Direct Vent W/ Rheostat & Draft Settings

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Thu. Dec. 13, 2007 8:58 pm

I am about to install a Rheostat on my direct vent Alaska Chaning 3 with a Barometric Damper. I need help setting up the rheostat to get the most out of my stove. I think I read that I want a .05 draft and I have a Manometer. Once I set the draft and rheostat is it constant no matter how high the fire or how low or will I constantly be setting the draft and rheostat each time I change the feed rate? Thanks in advance.
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert in any coal or plumbing related field. I only post my own experiences, research and common sense. If you choose to use any of the information in this post or any other post you do so at your own risk.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Dec. 13, 2007 9:11 pm

I would set it at MAX Burn rate to make sure it can handle the extra combustion fumes. Then check it when it is idling. It shouldn't change that much. It may drop down a bit when it goes into idle, as long you don't go below .02-.03. You shouldn't have to mess too much with it.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Thu. Dec. 13, 2007 10:08 pm

On my feed rate I have 1-5 and I've never run the stove passed 3 so should I use 3 as the max?
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert in any coal or plumbing related field. I only post my own experiences, research and common sense. If you choose to use any of the information in this post or any other post you do so at your own risk.

User avatar
Matthaus
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon. Oct. 02, 2006 8:59 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110 Dual Fuel, natural gas
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Lil' Heater (rental house)
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Buckwheat Anthracite
Location: Wilkes Barre, PA

Post Sat. Dec. 15, 2007 10:17 pm

If 3 is the max you run it then 3 is fine. As Dave said you just want to make sure it can handle the max it will run at. I only change the settings on my PV when I run at low feed rates due to spring or fall weather. That way when the stove is feeding at very low rates (mostly running on min feed rate)I won't lose as much heat out the PV.

Overall though the PV will be set and forget for the rest of the winter. One thing does happen to mine though, as it gets more fly ash and the oil in the motor is being used up in the PV I have to increase the setting slightly, so just keep an eye on it. After I blow out the fly ash and lube the motor I have to decrease the setting quite a bit. :D
Matthaus
Leisure Line Stove Company
http://www.leisurelinestoves.com/

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”