Air Handler Installed

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6068
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 3:08 pm

Some coal furnace can be disassembled and moved to location and then reassembled. I did move a Keystoker A-150 warm air furnace that way. :idea:

Broke it down after jacketing screws and panels were removed, I then removed blower as a unit, stoker as a unit and split the fire/burn chamber from the heat exchanger.

Believe it or not...I single handedly loaded and unloaded it to a 4x4 pickup truck myself, no stairs though. ;)

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 4:15 pm

Holy Moly !!
...for anyone that was wondering 'bout McGievers post ^
...our A150 came to the house this fall...crated from the factory.
It was chilly...and pourin down rain
under construction...needless to say the path around the house (to basement bilco doors) was undrivable and a mud hole.
These things are HEAVY !!!..
thank God it was in pieces...there were two of us...but we sure could have used YOU there!!! :D

...you must have had Wheaties THAT day...lol
...just thinkin about moving that thing alone is giving me a hernia !

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6068
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 9:52 pm

I should clarify a bit, I didn't carry it, just moved it up on truck and later back off. I was not in a hurry and as always I believe in working smarter not harder. :)

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 10:00 pm

McGiever wrote:I should clarify a bit, I didn't carry it, just moved it up on truck and later back off. I was not in a hurry and as always I believe in working smarter not harder. :)
....still
thats HEAVY...no mattet how smart you work ! :D

User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Thu. Feb. 07, 2013 8:04 pm

I added the second 8 inch to the return and that made a difference

Image


Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Thu. Feb. 07, 2013 8:50 pm

Nice job.......
"theres no substitution...for distribution"
..... :D

User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 11:46 am

I'm trying to get a 240 fan limit I think that will help too

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 1:34 pm

What are your on and off limits now ?
How many cfm are you currently handling ?
Higher ON temps arent always "efficient"....
Its nice to " feel " the hot air coming out of the vents...but lower supply temps are fine....especially if they blow longer...

User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 2:17 pm

Rigar wrote:What are your on and off limits now ?
How many cfm are you currently handling ?
Higher ON temps arent always "efficient"....
Its nice to " feel " the hot air coming out of the vents...but lower supply temps are fine....especially if they blow longer...
I think its 1000 cmf and its warm right now and tuning off with temp right now on the tstat and I feel all the heat coming out of the return when its off

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 2:56 pm

when it is off( the fan) you can probably expect to feel some heat rising...( gravity feed)
a higher " on" temperature will actually increase the gravity feed you feel when the fan is not running ( prior to fan start up)
you have a couple of options:

1- if you are comfortable and like the temperature the house maintains... do not change anything
2 - if you need or want more heat... that blower will easily handle 2 or 3 more 8 inch ducts..( by design... providing enough cold air return is available)
3- you could actually lower the "off" temperature of the limit switch... which will cause the blower to run longer... evacuating more heat for a longer period of time.
4- you can lower the"on" temperature of the limit switch as well.... supplying heat sooner (it may not feel as warm... but it is heat just the same)
... or you could lower both...(on AND off temperatures of the fan switch)... which will give you sooner cycles on the blower.
... there are many theories on this... but you should do whatever makes the house feel more comfortable.
... With forced warm air systems... circulation is the key to comfort and even room temperatures


User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 4:02 pm

Like today it's 30 out and the house is 75

I had another question I'm going through 75 lbs of coal a day when the stove is almost full open is that normal

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 5:24 pm

Keeping at 75....i wouldnt say its horrible....
Whats your stack temp when its running hard...
And your draft ?

3 lbs per hour....35 000 to 45 000 btu....give or take

...if you WERE heating with propane or fuel oil... would you keep the house at 75 degrees ??? lol

User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 8:19 pm

The big problem is when I run the stove near half open I have problems and I wake up and it's out if I keep it around 3/4 of full I don't have any problems and for some reason today it's 75 and warm but I usually keep the house around 72

The stove doesn't have much of a baffle kinda why I'm looking to replace this summer

Rigar
Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 150
Coal Size/Type: anthracite rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: A 150 warm air furnace
Location: central new york (syracuse area)

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2013 8:34 pm

Hopefully someone more familiar with your stove will chime in.
What make and model?
You may need a MPD....
How full are you loading it?
..it is hand fired...correct?
I would think you should get minimum 10 -12 hour burns

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”