Power Vent or Chimney

Post Reply
kchampney
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri. Jan. 04, 2013 8:16 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: kodiak stoker 2

Post Fri. Jan. 04, 2013 8:44 pm

I have a Alaska Kodiak 2, coal stove. I had it in my basement with a power vent hooked on it and am moving it to my uninsulated garage with steel siding. My problem is the motor on the power vent is bad and the wheel is stuck on the motor. I hate to spend a ton of money on a new motor. Also, the outside of the pipe is rotted where the wheel runs. Would I be better running a chimney or fixing the power vent? Any suggestions?

Boots
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu. Nov. 10, 2011 4:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Burnham SFB 101 (sold)
Location: Central PA

Post Fri. Jan. 04, 2013 9:43 pm

see if you can remove the motor and find some make / model numbers. then see if any eletrical supply places in your area have a replacement motor. this could save you some $$ versus buying from the manufacturer.

kchampney
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri. Jan. 04, 2013 8:16 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: kodiak stoker 2

Post Sat. Jan. 05, 2013 5:01 am

I did that its a 7121-7001 when I cross it over it comes out to d206 which is 55.00 but no fan with it not sure where to get that? I was also thinking of just going out the wall of the garage with stove pipe and up the side seeing it a tin garage.

User avatar
RAYJAY
Member
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun. Nov. 09, 2008 7:06 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: VAN WERT - 600 VA HOT WATER
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: HARMAN- MAGUM STOKER
Coal Size/Type: BUCKWHEAT ON BOTH
Other Heating: NG BOILER
Location: UNION DALE PA

Post Sat. Jan. 05, 2013 8:53 am

looking at the Alaska web site you can use a chimney instead of the power vent, however you will need to use triple wall pipe SS pipe from going thru the wall all the way up on the outside and you may still lose draft because of the pipe cooling down, the cheapest way is to fix the power vent, if you want to use reg pipe then you can go thru the roof use the reg pipe till you hit ceiling height then use double wall out the roof, rember the 3-foot by 2-foot by 10-foot rule on height over the roof line

Jeff


Boots
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu. Nov. 10, 2011 4:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Burnham SFB 101 (sold)
Location: Central PA

Post Sat. Jan. 05, 2013 9:45 am

kchampney wrote:I did that its a 7121-7001 when I cross it over it comes out to d206 which is 55.00 but no fan with it not sure where to get that? I was also thinking of just going out the wall of the garage with stove pipe and up the side seeing it a tin garage.
is there no way to remove the impeller from the shaft? no set screw, snap rings etc...

kchampney
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri. Jan. 04, 2013 8:16 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: kodiak stoker 2

Post Sat. Jan. 05, 2013 8:43 pm

it has set screws and they r locked up tighter than a drum, looks like a new fan

User avatar
RAYJAY
Member
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun. Nov. 09, 2008 7:06 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: VAN WERT - 600 VA HOT WATER
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: HARMAN- MAGUM STOKER
Coal Size/Type: BUCKWHEAT ON BOTH
Other Heating: NG BOILER
Location: UNION DALE PA

Post Sat. Jan. 05, 2013 9:13 pm

kchampney wrote:it has set screws and they r locked up tighter than a drum, looks like a new fan
you can heat them spray them down with penetrating fluid and get them out, or drill them out and retap new holes

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”