Direct Vent

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
xandrew245x
Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Sat. Nov. 24, 2012 2:26 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: keystoker 90
Hand Fed Coal Stove: aarrow stratford 75
Coal Size/Type: anthracite nut/rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler, fireplace
Location: Gardners, PA

Post Tue. Dec. 25, 2012 1:26 pm

So I have been looking at a used Harman stoker stove on craigslist, it seems like a decent deal. I really want to buy a coal boiler, but don't have the funds, and probably won't for a while, so I am looking into radiant heat for now. My big concern is though, where I want to put the stove there is no chimney, and I really don't want to have one built for it just being something I am going to use for a couple of years before I get a boiler. I have read about direct venting but I'm not not quite sure how it works or if it would work with my application.

User avatar
mozz
Member
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon. Sep. 17, 2007 5:27 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 1982 AA-130 Steam
Location: Wayne county PA.

Post Tue. Dec. 25, 2012 1:33 pm

You are going to need the chimney for the boiler anyway. You don't want to direct vent a boiler. Have a masonry one made, with 2 flues, buy a handfired and then a boiler. First, come across excess money, then proceed.
Gouldsboro PA.

xandrew245x
Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Sat. Nov. 24, 2012 2:26 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: keystoker 90
Hand Fed Coal Stove: aarrow stratford 75
Coal Size/Type: anthracite nut/rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler, fireplace
Location: Gardners, PA

Post Tue. Dec. 25, 2012 4:16 pm

The boiler would be going elsewhere where a chimney already exists. I didn't want to put the stove in the same place due to circulation, if I were able to direct vent the stoker I could pretty much put it where ever.


User avatar
331camaro
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu. Jun. 28, 2012 5:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker k6
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: springville, ny

Post Wed. Dec. 26, 2012 5:19 am

keep saving your pennys for the boiler! I was in your shoes too, and I know you want to start savin money as soon as you can but it dosent make sense to buy a stove, hook everything up just to tear it out in a yr or 2 or let it sit idle. imo to soften the burden of the cost of the boiler, I would plan your boiler hook up, and start buying everything a little at a time and make a small stock of everything your going to need. the boiler is the big expense but its the nickle and dime stuff that will crush you everytime if your not prepared. keep your nose in the classifieds there are a few efms on there. be patient! and good luck!

strez123
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri. Dec. 14, 2012 8:27 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: koker 105

Post Wed. Dec. 26, 2012 7:18 am

leisure line and alaska coal stoves or furnaces can be power vented on any model you just have to buy the power vent. They have a ul approval for this. Harman does not have a ul rating for their stoves for power venting only the dv500 model for direct venting. Keystoker does over a direct vent system for their models stoves and boilers also.

strez123
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri. Dec. 14, 2012 8:27 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: koker 105

Post Wed. Dec. 26, 2012 6:29 pm

My bother heats his whole house 1800 square feet with an Alaska stove 73 degrees up stairs ,and another 1800 square feet down stairs basement 67. His stove has been on an swg power venter for years and it works fantastic . The swg power venter is a mechanical chimney. I am posting some pictures of his set up
Attachments
2012-12-26_12-38-51_363.jpg
2010-12-28_07-29-36_196.jpg

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”