Auger/Gravity Coal Bin

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Jim from Macungie
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri. Nov. 30, 2012 8:47 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harmon
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum
Location: Macungie, Pa

Post Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:36 pm

I goofed up. Please see the reply below.
Last edited by Jim from Macungie on Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Jim from Macungie
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri. Nov. 30, 2012 8:47 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harmon
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum
Location: Macungie, Pa

Post Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 6:38 pm

mdrelyea wrote:This is the best coal bin I've ever seen!

What was the reason for not putting a pitch (43*?) on the floor of the bin so that you don't have to hop in when it's getting low? Clearly you put a lot of thought in to this so you probably had a reason.
Hi, Thanks for looking at my post. First I would like to thank everyone for all the nice comments on my coal bin. You asked “What was the reason for not putting a pitch (43*?) on the floor”. Everyone told me I would need 3 to 4 tons of coal. I think I felt that aesthetically a 4x4x12’ coal bin would look the best. I ran the math and given ~42 cu.ft/ton, it would hold 5 tons, perfect. I thought of angled floor but If I was to put those two 45 deg pitches on the bottom I would lose over one ton of capacity. Also, there was a height limitation because of the height limitations of the truck (he said 10’ max). And, it had to be so high off the ground, given that the bin is 2’ away from the house, the auger had to be 3’ off the ground so that I could obtain the 45 deg angle needed to slide into the top of the hopper of the stove. So, to stay with my initial dimensions I decided to go with the flat floor. I thought that I was still ahead of the game if all I have to do is hop in there for a few minutes sometime in the spring. Given that I use about 2 buckets of coal a day and empty one ash pan every other day I figure I knocked off 80% of the work. I hope that answered your question. Thanks again everyone.

User avatar
vermontday
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 8:27 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Location: Bennington, VT

Post Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 8:36 pm

You were smart going with a flat floor for reserve capacity.

Beautiful job. I sent the video link to my brother-inlaw in case he wanted to use the idea to feed his new Hitzer stoker.

Remember, no one can call us lazy when we do such ambitious projects to be lazy!
US dependence on foreign oil has created the greatest transfer of wealth in history.

User avatar
mdrelyea
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu. Mar. 08, 2012 12:36 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Auger
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Russo #2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice/Nut
Location: Victor, NY

Post Tue. Dec. 04, 2012 8:47 pm

That answers the question. I was sure you had a reason!

katman
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri. Dec. 07, 2007 2:18 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum
Other Heating: Harman PB 105 Pellet Boiler
Location: Davidsonville, md.

Post Wed. Dec. 05, 2012 8:37 am

That is awesome. Now how about designing a system for us that does dustless removal of the ashes?

Greyhound
Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun. Jul. 01, 2007 1:04 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 105
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Lenox Oil HA, Heat Pump
Location: Axemann, PA

Post Fri. Dec. 07, 2012 7:10 pm

In a word WOW! Very nice job indeed. :clap:

xandrew245x
Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Sat. Nov. 24, 2012 2:26 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: keystoker 90
Hand Fed Coal Stove: aarrow stratford 75
Coal Size/Type: anthracite nut/rice
Other Heating: Oil boiler, fireplace
Location: Gardners, PA

Post Thu. Dec. 13, 2012 8:33 am

That is a really nice setup, do you get much dust inside when your filling your hopper?

Jim from Macungie
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri. Nov. 30, 2012 8:47 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harmon
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum
Location: Macungie, Pa

Post Thu. Dec. 13, 2012 8:50 pm

xandrew245x wrote:That is a really nice setup, do you get much dust inside when your filling your hopper?
Thanks for looking at my post. No, there is no dust. I fashioned a lid covering the top of the stove's hopper.


Kindleofcats
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri. Jan. 11, 2013 3:18 pm

Post Sun. Jan. 20, 2013 4:38 pm

Jim, How fast does the auger turn? Do I need to reduce the RPM?

Jim from Macungie
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri. Nov. 30, 2012 8:47 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harmon
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum
Location: Macungie, Pa

Post Sat. Jan. 26, 2013 8:37 am

Hi, I think the auger was designed to run at 450 rpm. It came with a 7” pulley on the auger and they suggested a 2” pulley for the motor. I put a 1 ¾” pulley on the motor. To be honest I thought that 450 rpm would be way too fast. However, that speed seems perfect. Holding the switch for about 6 seconds drops 25# of rice down the pipe. My only thought I would like to pass along is that I am not sure that that rpm would work in the horizontal position if the auger was just lying in a trough. I think the motor would have a hard time starting with all that weight on it. So far, the Auger Assisted Gravity Fed coal bin system works great !! No problems. My stove is maxed out right now because of how cold it is outside but I love the thing. COAL IS COOL !! Thanks for looking at my post. Jim

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8304
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sat. Jan. 26, 2013 9:36 am

Its nice to see a well planned project perform over its expectations..
Good work partner!!!

:dancing:

User avatar
mikey55
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed. Jun. 25, 2008 10:32 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: key stoker ka6
Stove/Furnace Model: ka6
Location: fabius new york

Post Sat. Jan. 26, 2013 9:57 am

Jim, great job and work. Love how it blends with the house. Thats on my list to come up with some sort of bin with auger system. You are right coal is cool. 70 in house watching my neighbor getting oil delivered. I can see the tears in is eyes from here.

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8327
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Mon. Feb. 11, 2013 9:42 am

Very nice!!!
Heating a circa 1832 farmhouse with a Harman Magnafire Mark I & a 1959 EFM 350 (heating DHW).
100% Oil Free!
"It's what we learn after we think we know it all that counts."

Kindleofcats
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri. Jan. 11, 2013 3:18 pm

Post Fri. Mar. 01, 2013 8:03 pm

What is the minimum pitch to insure a coal flow?

Jim from Macungie
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri. Nov. 30, 2012 8:47 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harmon
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum
Location: Macungie, Pa

Post Fri. Mar. 08, 2013 4:36 pm

Hi. The minimum pitch on the 4" PVC going into my basement is 43 deg. I did not really research the minimum pitch but I did test it a little. I spent about 1/2 hour testing and I felt I wanted nothing less than 40 deg. My advice would be figure 45 deg ALL THE WAY. That is to include any elbows. Make sure that everything is going 45 deg. Thanks for looking at my posts. Coal is cool !! Jim


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”