Duct Work Sizing

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Fri. Nov. 30, 2012 9:02 pm

I want to install a air handler for my stove and I don't know how to size it

The coal stove is in the basement under the livingroom 2 I hope some one can help me

The walls are 2x4 with r13

Image

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6009
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 7:18 am

Sorry, no answers. Just some more questions. ;)

A stove is not a furnace...but sometimes heat distribution can be improved.

What is the manufacturer's BTU output rating of the stove?

Would you be jacketing the entire stove or what?

What is the existing heating distribution system?

Do you plan to tie into existing duct work or what?

This could be simple or not.
Would you be pushing through existing duct-work and connecting at the main trunk of duct vs just somewhere in duct down stream?
Or, do you just want to poke a hole through the floor and push air up into the space above?
Would you be incorporating a Return Air Duct for this air handler?

It is hard to advise without more info. :)
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 6:10 pm

McGiever wrote:Sorry, no answers. Just some more questions. ;)

A stove is not a furnace...but sometimes heat distribution can be improved.

What is the manufacturer's BTU output rating of the stove?
Im not sure I cant find any info on my Stratford stove to find out the BTU

Found online 15,000-100,000 BTU


Would you be jacketing the entire stove or what?
I Was thinking about reversing my Blower on the stove into the return of the system

What is the existing heating distribution system?
I don't have any I have a stove in the basement that keeps my first floor 65 to 67 so I was going to install a A/C unit any way with all the duct work and use that to heat the first floor

Do you plan to tie into existing duct work or what?
I don't have existing but im planning to tie into new ductwork once I get help sizing the main trunk

This could be simple or not.
Would you be pushing through existing duct-work and connecting at the main trunk of duct vs just somewhere in duct down stream?
Or, do you just want to poke a hole through the floor and push air up into the space above?
Would you be incorporating a Return Air Duct for this air handler?

It is hard to advise without more info. :)
I hope that helped


User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 6:19 pm

I was wondering if there would be any problem with reversing the fan on the stove to supply the return

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6009
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 9:59 pm

georgedj wrote:
McGiever wrote:Sorry, no answers. Just some more questions. ;)

A stove is not a furnace...but sometimes heat distribution can be improved.

What is the manufacturer's BTU output rating of the stove?
Im not sure I cant find any info on my Stratford stove to find out the BTU

Found online 15,000-100,000 BTU


Would you be jacketing the entire stove or what?
I Was thinking about reversing my Blower on the stove into the return of the system
Reversing stove blower...if it were even possible, would be subjecting blower to excessive heat and give it a very short life. :(

Some stove mfg. get the heat out by blocking the normal outlet(s) and allow the heated air to exit through a added collar cut into the outer shell of the stove to which sheet metal duct is extended to a remote location.

What is the existing heating distribution system?
I don't have any I have a stove in the basement that keeps my first floor 65 to 67 so I was going to install a A/C unit any way with all the duct work and use that to heat the first floor

Do you plan to tie into existing duct work or what?
I don't have existing but im planning to tie into new ductwork once I get help sizing the main trunk
read here>>> http://www.johnrwhite.net/three%20steps%20to%20du ... sizing.htm

This could be simple or not.
Would you be pushing through existing duct-work and connecting at the main trunk of duct vs just somewhere in duct down stream?
Or, do you just want to poke a hole through the floor and push air up into the space above?
Would you be incorporating a Return Air Duct for this air handler?

It is hard to advise without more info. :)
I hope that helped
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
georgedj
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stratford
Stove/Furnace Model: SC100
Location: Byram, New Jersey

Post Sun. Dec. 02, 2012 11:45 am

Thanks I will work on that today

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”