Dirty Chimney?

rberq
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 1300 with hopper
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Nut
Other Heating: Oil hot water radiators (fuel oil); propane

Post by rberq » Tue. Dec. 04, 2007 7:47 am

This is my first year with a coal stove after many years burning wood and frequent chimney cleanings to fight creosote. My stove is a Harman Mark I. I have read that my metal chimney should be cleaned in the Spring so sulfur residues won't combine with moist summer air and dissolve the metal. How about during the burning season? Is a dangerous level of soot likely to collect anywhere, that could cause a chimney fire? How about fly ash? Is there anywhere the ash will collect either in the stove or the chimney and block the flue? My chimney configuration is just a single ninety-degree elbow at the stove and then a straight shot up through stovepipe and chimney.

WNY
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by WNY » Tue. Dec. 04, 2007 8:03 am

That's the beauty of coal, there is no flamable afterburn materials, just the fly ash and maybe a bit of dirt/soot. It will mostly collect on horizontal runs of pipe and/or the clean-out of the chimney (if equiped). Yes, it should be cleaned as soon as possible after you shutdown, I believe there is a solution (like baking soda/water?) to neutrilize the ash.

I ran my one stove for almost 3 months and only had 1/4-1/2" of ash in the horizontal run before the chimney.

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Tue. Dec. 04, 2007 9:06 am

If you change that 90* to a TEE with a cap closing the opening facing the room, then you can just remove the cap, look into the flue, inspect for flyash accumulation on the horizontal stretch of pipe. Vacuum it out if needed and close up, all in about 5 minutes...