Anyone Done the Coal Trol Upgrade?

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
EarthWindandFire
Member
Posts: 1457
Joined: Sat. Dec. 18, 2010 12:02 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Lil' Heater.
Other Heating: Oil Furnace and Kerosene Heaters.
Location: Connecticut

Post Tue. May. 15, 2012 4:53 pm

I have been thinking about sending my coal-trol back to Automation Correct and have them upgrade the software from the standard TS2 to the more advanced TS2ES version. The main advantage for me is the additional day/night temperature setpoints.

Has anyone done this and what was the approximate turn around time?
Mark

Inflation is the Grim Reaper to prosperity.
Printing money without a gold standard is the crime of counterfeiting.
The bitterness of poor quality lingers long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
Mr. McGee, don't make me angry. You wouldn't like me when I'm angry.
Si vis paceum, parabellum.

User avatar
Coalfire
Member
Posts: 1029
Joined: Mon. Nov. 23, 2009 8:28 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 96K btu Circulator
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Location: Denver, PA

Post Tue. May. 15, 2012 9:00 pm

Not worth it, as far as I am concerned. Most that have used the setbacks seem to use more coal or have less temp control.

Coal = Slow and steady :)

Eric

User avatar
2001Sierra
Member
Posts: 1844
Joined: Wed. May. 20, 2009 8:09 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker 90 Chimney Vent
Location: Wynantskill NY, 10 miles from Albany

Post Tue. May. 15, 2012 9:10 pm

Been there done that. I do like the options offered. I am still tweaking my setup. I am not normal :oops: I am a computer technician by trade so I have to mess with everything electronic, been doing so for 30 years. With that said call Automationcorrect and tell them what your goals are and I am sure they will not mislead you. I have since reconfigured my Keystoker 90 into a "Mini-Furnace" configuration, but still might relocate my thermostat to take advandage of my new configuration. If you want more settings, and choices you will not go wrong with getting your thermostat reconfigured.


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. May. 16, 2012 6:15 am

Never used the setback, it has too much temperature swings, since coal takes so much time to heat up and cool down.

Only thing I would like to upgrade is the Fan kicking on/off for a like a minute at the low FR and CFT threshold setpoint.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Jun. 13, 2012 7:14 pm

You need to call (315-299-3589) to arrange for the upgrade. Sometimes, depending on which Coal-trol version you have, it requires both the control box and thermostat to be sent in. Usually, though, it is just the thermostat.

Once we get it usually takes a day for it to be shipped back out. Often it ships back out the same day, if we get it early enough in the morning.
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”