In-Line Fan as a Power Vent?

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
jkabdoors
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 8:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Nepa. by Moon Lake

Post Wed. Apr. 25, 2012 4:50 pm

Can you use an inline fan that you would use to move the warm air or move the cold air as a power-vent to help keep the draft in your chimney on a stoker?

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12710
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Wed. Apr. 25, 2012 5:29 pm

No. The power venters for coal stoves are SS and even if that didn't make a difference they don't have wires, motors and other parts inside a pipe that is going melt them. If you hooked one inside a vent pipe I'd give it a few hours before it was toast.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Wed. Apr. 25, 2012 5:30 pm

A power venter would be a device that would allow complete exhausting of flue gasses. These can be at the boiler, midpoint or end of the draft system.

A draft inducer is a device that assists the natual draft of a chimney. These are typically placed in the breeching from the boiler to the chimney. They provide a boost to the flue gases.

Both devices are engineered for their application. Special materials are used to withstand the higher temperatures and corrosive nature of flue gases. Most incorporate some sort of control to help interlock the fan with the boiler.
Selection of the device in respect to the nature of the flue gasses and the size of the boiler is very important for proper and safe operation.

A standard inline fan would not be equipped to handle the temperature and corrosive nature of flue gasses. You just cannot take any fan and stick it inline and say it will work or work safely.

Spend the extra dollars for a unit designed for your application. The manufacturer will have application and sizing date to assist you to properly select the unit.

Edit - Richard was faster on the keyboard than me.
Steamup

"You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself."
Sam Levenson
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler."
Albert Einstein

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8289
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Wed. Apr. 25, 2012 7:49 pm

Have a look at these, I use the AD-1

http://www.pexsupply.com/In-Line-Draft-Inducers-14521000

- EDIT -
I see they have the DJ-3 which is smaller and would probably be better than the AD-1 since many of us had to modify the speed control on the AD-1 to slow it down because it made way too much draft on the lowest setting. Maybe someone with a DJ-3 could confirm?

User avatar
Flyer5
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 10382
Joined: Sun. Oct. 21, 2007 4:23 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer
Location: Montrose PA
Contact:

Post Wed. Apr. 25, 2012 9:24 pm

jkabdoors wrote:Can you use an inline fan that you would use to move the warm air or move the cold air as a power-vent to help keep the draft in your chimney on a stoker?
If your chimney is marginal in this weather you can also try blocking off part of the combustion blower inlet to adjust over fire pressure. You should have some type of draft gauge but you can try blocking half with duct tape if that works you can do a more permanent and adjustable metal plate later. I would make sure all pipes are clean and no holes as well. If you need to you can give us a call 570-752-1811. I am assuming you are talking about the Pocono in your avatar? Dave
http://www.leisurelinestove.com


You know when people say it was "better back in my day"?

They were right.


jkabdoors
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 8:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Nepa. by Moon Lake

Post Thu. Apr. 26, 2012 7:01 am

Thanks everyone, my Pocono has a powervent system. My buddy that has the Harman Mag Stoker does not have a power-vent it is just hookd to his chimney. He was just wondering if would be possible. Would he have to bypass the chimney to install a power-vent and make a new hole?

User avatar
Coalfire
Member
Posts: 1029
Joined: Mon. Nov. 23, 2009 8:28 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 96K btu Circulator
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Location: Denver, PA

Post Thu. Apr. 26, 2012 7:14 am

jkabdoors wrote: My buddy that has the Harman Mag Stoker does not have a power-vent it is just hookd to his chimney. He was just wondering if would be possible. Would he have to bypass the chimney to install a power-vent and make a new hole?
If you have a chimney why would you want to powervent? :?

Eric

jkabdoors
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 8:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Nepa. by Moon Lake

Post Thu. Apr. 26, 2012 7:29 am

In the warmer weather he is smelling that rotton egg smell, only a small amount. He was just asking what could be done to take the exhaust out.

User avatar
Coalfire
Member
Posts: 1029
Joined: Mon. Nov. 23, 2009 8:28 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 96K btu Circulator
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Location: Denver, PA

Post Thu. Apr. 26, 2012 7:31 am

jkabdoors wrote:In the warmer weather he is smelling that rotton egg smell, only a small amount. He was just asking what could be done to take the exhaust out.
Need a manometer, and on the mag there is a restrictor plate on the combustion blower to close so you can lower the pressure in the fire box. That would be the first step.

Eric

jkabdoors
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 8:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Nepa. by Moon Lake

Post Thu. Apr. 26, 2012 7:34 am

Thanks Eric


User avatar
I'm On Fire
Member
Posts: 3920
Joined: Thu. Jun. 10, 2010 9:34 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machines DS-1600 Hot Air Circulator
Location: Vernon, New Jersey

Post Thu. Apr. 26, 2012 11:52 am

Lightning wrote:Have a look at these, I use the AD-1

http://www.pexsupply.com/In-Line-Draft-Inducers-14521000

- EDIT -
I see they have the DJ-3 which is smaller and would probably be better than the AD-1 since many of us had to modify the speed control on the AD-1 to slow it down because it made way too much draft on the lowest setting. Maybe someone with a DJ-3 could confirm?
Looks like the DJ-3 might be an improvement over the AD-1.

User avatar
Berlin
Site Moderator
Posts: 1847
Joined: Thu. Feb. 09, 2006 1:25 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Will-Burt Combustioneer 77B
Coal Size/Type: Ohio BITUMINOUS pea stoker coal
Location: Buffalo/Adirondacks, NY

Post Fri. Apr. 27, 2012 12:33 am

jkabdoors wrote:In the warmer weather he is smelling that rotton egg smell, only a small amount. He was just asking what could be done to take the exhaust out.
he could... fix his chimney.
Burning western Pennsylvania Bituminous in WNY using model 77 stoker furnace. BITUMINOUS equiptment: 2 hand fired stoves of my own design, Many Combustioneer Model 77 stokers, stokermatic furnace, Many Will-Burt stokers, & and Two Iron firemen.

jkabdoors
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 8:31 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Nepa. by Moon Lake

Post Fri. Apr. 27, 2012 9:50 am

that ad-1 looks great! Im not sure why this happens, he never had this problem when he burned wood. He and I are both new to coal this year I had mine installed by a dealer and have no problems he bought his used and I think it is not installed the rite way.This will be a summer project as far as his chimney it was just cleaned pryor to the Mag install.

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12710
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Fri. Apr. 27, 2012 10:57 am

jkabdoors wrote: he never had this problem when he burned wood.
There is two differences, firstly the combustion air creates some pressure inside the stove. Secondly the coal stove are much more efficient, less heat in chimney means less potential for a draft.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”