Temp Switch That Would Work on Flue - Source?

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
dave brode
Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri. Jan. 15, 2010 5:47 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-2
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: used to have a 5 section Red Square
Coal Size/Type: rice anthracite
Location: Frostburg, Maryland [western]

Post Wed. Feb. 29, 2012 8:07 pm

Hello All,

I'm interested in a temp controlled switch that has a probe of some sort that one could use in, or on the flue. Something that opens on rise, and adjustable for 300, maybe 350* range.

Thanks in advance.

Dave
I love my Kaa-2. It replaced a small 5 section Red Square, and Iron Fireman, burned bituminous for 20 yr.

User avatar
Short Bus
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun. Jan. 10, 2010 12:22 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Kewanee boiler with Anchor stoker
Coal Size/Type: Chestnut / Sub-bituminous C
Other Heating: Propane wall furnace back up only
Location: Cantwell Alaska

Post Wed. Feb. 29, 2012 9:32 pm

They were called stack switches on oil and coal burners, oil has all gone to the electric eye to confirm the fire is lit, and coal seams to have gone to not bothering with them.
Currently you probalby could use a snap switch available in Grainger and place on the outside of your stove pipe.
If it was as easy as burning oil, everybody would be burning coal.
Forum reality, If you ask wheres a good steak house? You will be informed that what you really want is pork chops.
Enjoy it for what it is worth.

User avatar
dave brode
Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri. Jan. 15, 2010 5:47 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-2
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: used to have a 5 section Red Square
Coal Size/Type: rice anthracite
Location: Frostburg, Maryland [western]

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 12:09 am

Thanks, Short Bus,

I found snap disc style switches as high as 350*, but I thought that there might be other options.

I wonder how much difference there is between the inside flue temp and surface? I need a infrared gun....

Dave
I love my Kaa-2. It replaced a small 5 section Red Square, and Iron Fireman, burned bituminous for 20 yr.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 5:41 am

They are SNAP SWITCHES, THERMODISC SWITCHES, etc...

any HVAC should have them, EBAY, PEXSUPPLY, COLE PALMER, etc...usually run about $10-20. You can get them adjustable too. I use one for my jacket fan switch.

Probalby about 100+ degree difference between inside and outside the pipe.

I guess it depends on what you want to do with the switch.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


User avatar
dave brode
Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri. Jan. 15, 2010 5:47 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-2
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: used to have a 5 section Red Square
Coal Size/Type: rice anthracite
Location: Frostburg, Maryland [western]

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 10:55 am

WNY,

Understood, I should have mentioner more clearly that I was aware of such switches. I wondered about something with a probe that could enter the flue gas stream.

I'm looking to control a second combustion fan on my "manufactured with a single fan" Kaa-2, but I wish to have a "high limit" control on it, based on flue gas temp.

Thanks.
Dave
I love my Kaa-2. It replaced a small 5 section Red Square, and Iron Fireman, burned bituminous for 20 yr.

User avatar
Short Bus
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun. Jan. 10, 2010 12:22 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Kewanee boiler with Anchor stoker
Coal Size/Type: Chestnut / Sub-bituminous C
Other Heating: Propane wall furnace back up only
Location: Cantwell Alaska

Post Thu. Mar. 01, 2012 11:19 pm

If it was as easy as burning oil, everybody would be burning coal.
Forum reality, If you ask wheres a good steak house? You will be informed that what you really want is pork chops.
Enjoy it for what it is worth.

User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Fri. Mar. 02, 2012 10:58 am

I am not sure of why you want to control the secondary fan with a stack switch, but the only option that I can think of would be to use a simple industrial temperature controller with a RTD or Thermistor probe in the stack. These type controllers are available from OMEGA or similar suppliers.

The old flue switches of day past are not readily available any more.
Steamup

"You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself."
Sam Levenson
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler."
Albert Einstein

User avatar
dave brode
Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri. Jan. 15, 2010 5:47 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-2
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: used to have a 5 section Red Square
Coal Size/Type: rice anthracite
Location: Frostburg, Maryland [western]

Post Fri. Mar. 02, 2012 4:12 pm

Thanks, Gents.

I don't want to fully control the 2nd fan via the stack temp, just open the circuit if stack temp get too high. I admit, it's probably another exercise in buy, try and re-shelf. The thermisters and such are a tad pricey. Since it could be just an experiment, a $10 "snap disc" looks to be the best option.

Thanks much for your input.

Dave
I love my Kaa-2. It replaced a small 5 section Red Square, and Iron Fireman, burned bituminous for 20 yr.


User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Sat. Mar. 03, 2012 11:49 pm

At the temperature range that you are looking at, it will be hard to find a device that trips at 350 deg. f. without going to an industrial control.

Since you are in the experimental mode, why not try a oven thermostat. Maybe you could find an appliance dealer that would let you salvage one out of a throw-away stove.
Steamup

"You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself."
Sam Levenson
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler."
Albert Einstein

User avatar
dave brode
Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri. Jan. 15, 2010 5:47 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-2
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: used to have a 5 section Red Square
Coal Size/Type: rice anthracite
Location: Frostburg, Maryland [western]

Post Sun. Mar. 04, 2012 12:00 am

Steamup,

I hadn't thought of something from an oven. i'll look into that.

I don't know if they'd live long, but there are 300 and 350* snap switches;

http://www.grainger.com/product/Snap-Disc-Control ... vc=IDPRRZ1
http://www.grainger.com/product/Snap-Disc-Control ... vc=IDPRRZ1

Something with a probe [and affordable] would be better, but I don't know about how such devices would live in that enviroment. I still need to get a good infrared gun and check the outside flue temp. My cheap BBQ gauge in the flue says 375 ish running hard for 20 minutes or so with a normal amount of air, but giving the fire only a little more air will make it go 400+ in a hurry.

thanks
Dave
I love my Kaa-2. It replaced a small 5 section Red Square, and Iron Fireman, burned bituminous for 20 yr.

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Mar. 04, 2012 4:22 pm

Like *steamup* said:

**Broken Link(s) Removed**
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
dave brode
Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri. Jan. 15, 2010 5:47 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-2
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: used to have a 5 section Red Square
Coal Size/Type: rice anthracite
Location: Frostburg, Maryland [western]

Post Mon. Mar. 05, 2012 12:40 am

McGiever [and others],

You guys are the best. That looks ideal. Just clamp the bulb to the flue, and the switch would be back away from the heat. And my price range too!

Thanks for taking interest in this, another whacky experiment.

Best Regards,

Dave
I love my Kaa-2. It replaced a small 5 section Red Square, and Iron Fireman, burned bituminous for 20 yr.

syncmaster
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat. Apr. 19, 2008 1:29 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: harmanVF3000 Coal/oil option
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: VF3000
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman VF3000
Location: long Island,NY

Post Mon. Apr. 23, 2012 6:51 pm

I did a little mod on my VF3000 boiler like you are looking for.
I wanted to know if I had a out fire and I thought about monitoring the stack temp, but the stack temp is pretty low when the boiler is idling.
So I thought it might be better to install a snap switch on the outside of the boiler on the stoker assembly.
the stack switch is mounted on stoker wall where on the other side of the wall are the hot coals.
I used a L140-20
here is a link to the specs
http://www.drillspot.com/products/446908/Supco_L1 ... Thermostat

I have the snap switch contacts connected to a flood monitor, so when it gets below 120* the contacts close and sound the flood monitor.

here is a link to the flood monitor.
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servle ... 038838-_-x

this has worked well for about a year now.
I will post pictures below.
IMG_4143_1.JPG
IMG_4147_2.JPG
it is hard to see but there are hot coals behind the ash pile
IMG_4148_3.JPG
click on this picture to see the hot coals, on the other side of this wall, the snap switch is mounted.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”