Damper for Plenum

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 8:35 pm

Hi everyone, been awhile since I posted but love this site. I am halfway complete installing my propane furnace. I've had my hotblast for 3 years now with no backup heat source. Propane is in the middle of the heat and cold air trunks and hotblast is at one end. Problem is I have hot air from the hotblast going through the propane furnace and spilling out, heat that could be used for the upstairs. How could I change this?
John
coal, the future of america

User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 8:38 pm

2011-12-21_19-36-41_827.jpg
coal, the future of america

User avatar
grumpy
Member
Posts: 6925
Joined: Sat. Jan. 02, 2010 12:28 am

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 8:42 pm

Can you install a shutter that would stay closed until the propane furnace turned on and then it would open to let the air through?


User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 9:22 pm

That's what im thinking. Has anyone made one? Or where could I purchase one, or do they even exist???
coal, the future of america

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 9:39 pm

Only need to look as far as your manual...
back draft damper.JPG
RTFM
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 10:15 pm

I don't have a problem with the hotblast. Dampers are in place for that. Its on my 16 by 21 plenum on the propane furnace
coal, the future of america


User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 10:20 pm

gitrdonecoal wrote:I don't have a problem with the hotblast. Dampers are in place for that. Its on my 16 by 21 plenum on the propane furnace
Yes, but the principle is the same for either. :idea:
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
grumpy
Member
Posts: 6925
Joined: Sat. Jan. 02, 2010 12:28 am

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 10:21 pm

gitrdonecoal wrote:That's what im thinking. Has anyone made one? Or where could I purchase one, or do they even exist???
Yes, shop around, something like this,

http://www.homedepot.com/buy/building-materials-r ... 23807.html

http://www.alanmfg.com/products/Shutter%20Dampers ... Start.html

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Dec. 21, 2011 10:30 pm

Been asked about previously...
Where to Buy a 8X16 Backdraft Damper
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

Kungur
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu. Sep. 25, 2008 7:09 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: K-2
Location: Chardon,Ohio

Post Thu. Dec. 22, 2011 7:04 am

Before I switched to a boiler I had a similar set-up. What I did was make a "sliding door" in each plenum. This allowed me to isolate either furnace. LOw tech but it worked great.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”