CO Detector With Ability to Shut Off Power

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Mon. Nov. 28, 2011 9:58 am

I've asked about this in the past and still can't find anything commercially available. I'd like to have a CO detector that would allow for shutting down power to a device, in this case the stoker motor on a coal stove. I know I can rig something up using a latching relay, but I'd prefer to buy something already built. Any ideas?
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck


User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11915
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Mon. Nov. 28, 2011 10:09 am

Jim D. builds all his stoves with that very feature.

http://www.coaljack.com/home/?page_id=50
The laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are
neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. ...Such laws make things worse
for the assaulted and better for the assailants, they serve rather to
encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with
greater confidence than an armed man."

- Thomas Jefferson, quoting 18th century criminologist Cesare Beccaria in "On
Crimes and Punishment."

User avatar
nortcan
Member
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat. Feb. 20, 2010 3:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stuart,Peterson/ Grander
Stove/Furnace Model: Sunnyside/ Golden Bride
Location: Qc Canada

Post Mon. Nov. 28, 2011 10:19 am

I install one on each floor to shut off the power of the blower venting air around the Vig.
S-TECH, PS-001N
stech.com

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Mon. Nov. 28, 2011 10:32 am

nortcan wrote:I install one on each floor to shut off the power of the blower venting air around the Vig.
S-TECH, PS-001N
stech.com
Thanks..that has relay contacts, but what do you use for the actual power shutoff module?
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
nortcan
Member
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat. Feb. 20, 2010 3:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stuart,Peterson/ Grander
Stove/Furnace Model: Sunnyside/ Golden Bride
Location: Qc Canada

Post Mon. Nov. 28, 2011 11:24 am

av8r wrote:
nortcan wrote:I install one on each floor to shut off the power of the blower venting air around the Vig.
S-TECH, PS-001N
stech.com
Thanks..that has relay contacts, but what do you use for the actual power shutoff module?
I have a power box and the blower is plug in it.
The relay is 12V,and I have a transfo 120V to 12 V placed in a regular electric 120V box with fem.120V plugs. Sorry for my poor translation.
In fact it's is in a gegular 120V outlet box. A plug cord get out of that box and connect to the power. The blower is connected to that outlet. From the relay wires run to the Co alarm. If Co is detected, alarms sound and the blower stops.
Easy to understand for you??????????????? if not I can ask a friend better words.
Attachments
DSC03964.JPG
DSC03966.JPG
DSC03960.JPG

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Nov. 28, 2011 12:43 pm

Yes, in one of the old threads, the guy at CoalJack was offering them to the public, they are standard with their stoves.

I believe you can get them for Boats and RV's too, to shut off the generators if CO is present. Just have to wire them up a bit differently or may need a transformer (12V or 24V) They have many different ones available.

Coaljack C.O. Detector
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Mon. Nov. 28, 2011 6:26 pm

nortcan wrote:
av8r wrote: Thanks..that has relay contacts, but what do you use for the actual power shutoff module?
I have a power box and the blower is plug in it.
The relay is 12V,and I have a transfo 120V to 12 V placed in a regular electric 120V box with fem.120V plugs. Sorry for my poor translation.
In fact it's is in a gegular 120V outlet box. A plug cord get out of that box and connect to the power. The blower is connected to that outlet. From the relay wires run to the Co alarm. If Co is detected, alarms sound and the blower stops.
Easy to understand for you??????????????? if not I can ask a friend better words.
So the relay is in the silver electrical box?

thanks
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
nortcan
Member
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat. Feb. 20, 2010 3:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stuart,Peterson/ Grander
Stove/Furnace Model: Sunnyside/ Golden Bride
Location: Qc Canada

Post Mon. Nov. 28, 2011 6:59 pm

Yes the relay is in it.
The power arrives at the white outlet, the silver box(connected to the white power outlet box) with the relay brings the power to one outlet for the transfo at the bottom and the other to the motor.
Attachments
DSC03967.JPG


User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Tue. Nov. 29, 2011 1:24 pm

nortcan wrote:Yes the relay is in it.
The power arrives at the white outlet, the silver box(connected to the white power outlet box) with the relay brings the power to one outlet for the transfo at the bottom and the other to the motor.
Thanks
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Tue. Nov. 29, 2011 3:28 pm

Posted this earlier in your other thread...but neither is this a Plug N Play solution.
When this relay is combined w/ a Interconnected Detector it will switch whatever you connect to it.
McGiever wrote:For others who may not be looking for a "plug-n-play" solution:

Carbon Monoxide Alarm Relay Module

This relay will only activate when it receives a CO signal from an interconnected Carbon Monoxide Alarm.


This is the detector which is compatible w/ the relay:

Kidde-KN-COSM-IB-Hardwire-Combination-Interconnectable
Last edited by McGiever on Tue. Nov. 29, 2011 8:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Tue. Nov. 29, 2011 7:51 pm

McGiever wrote:Posted this earlier in your other thread...but neither is this a Plug N Play solution.
When this relay is combined w/ a Interconnected Detector it will switch whatever you connect to it.

Need a Combustion Gas Shut Off
Thank you
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
mariohotshot
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 10:58 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: 105
Location: Blakeslee, PA

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 6:09 pm

I like this idea. I just don't understand the hookup. Can someone please give more specific details on how to hook this up? Would an exhaust fan also help if it were connected to a CO detector? Thanks in advance!
Wisdom comes from experience. I'm still working on it :)

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 7:54 pm

hook up is: The relay gets signal from alarm and then relay switches off stoker burner.

I would be hesitant to have a CO alarm relay start an exhaust fan...it is possible the fan would worsen the CO levels depending on what caused the alarm in the first place.
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
mariohotshot
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 10:58 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: 105
Location: Blakeslee, PA

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 9:52 pm

Thanks, but more specific in voltage connections. 120V feeding the stove is interuppted by the relay which is triggered by the co detector. I assume the relay is 12v? It needs a transformer. The alarm is only sending a signal to the relay which in turn opens the feeding circuit? Correct? A diagram would be great!
Wisdom comes from experience. I'm still working on it :)

User avatar
mariohotshot
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 10:58 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: 105
Location: Blakeslee, PA

Post Wed. Oct. 30, 2013 6:27 pm

I figured it out. Once I get it put together, I'll post some photos and some wire diagrams to share. No it does not cost $300 to build!
Wisdom comes from experience. I'm still working on it :)


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”