Liner and Cap

Post Reply
User avatar
ValterBorges
Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon. Sep. 05, 2011 10:12 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: AHS
Stove/Furnace Model: S260
Location: Berlin, CT

Post Sat. Nov. 19, 2011 1:21 pm

Anyone here interested on doing chimney liner and cap, in Portland ct.

User avatar
watkinsdr
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat. Mar. 24, 2007 8:14 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S260 Boiler
Location: Kensington, New Hampshire

Post Sat. Nov. 19, 2011 1:46 pm

I had a sheister convince me I needed a insulated chimney liner with 6" stainless insert. Huge mistake. I'd never, ever, do it again.

I wish I still had my tile lined masonary flue; which, pulled like a freight train. It will cost me huge money to undue what has been done...

The cap however is a great idea. Highly recommended.

Proceed with caution.

User avatar
ValterBorges
Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon. Sep. 05, 2011 10:12 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: AHS
Stove/Furnace Model: S260
Location: Berlin, CT

Post Sat. Nov. 19, 2011 3:12 pm

Good to know. Can you expand on the difference.


User avatar
Berlin
Site Moderator
Posts: 1847
Joined: Thu. Feb. 09, 2006 1:25 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Will-Burt Combustioneer 77B
Coal Size/Type: Ohio BITUMINOUS pea stoker coal
Location: Buffalo/Adirondacks, NY

Post Sat. Nov. 19, 2011 3:35 pm

If you've got a masonry chimney lined or unlined in halfway decent condition - don't waste money and reduce it's safety by lining it with stainless.

Do I Need a Stainless Steel Liner for My Chimney?

User avatar
watkinsdr
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat. Mar. 24, 2007 8:14 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S260 Boiler
Location: Kensington, New Hampshire

Post Sat. Nov. 19, 2011 4:07 pm

Hey Valter:

About 10 years ago I got the bright idea to put a wood stove in my basement. Turns out, being a completely clueless wood burner, I had a minor chimney fire and didn't even know it; which, apparently damaged my tile lined masonary chimney flue (~30 feet tall). When I installed the Keystoker Koker 5 years ago, the guy who did the installation claimed I had a defective flue (due to the minor chimney fire) and the best way to rectify the problem would be installing a insulated 6" stainless steel (SS) liner (part of his business). My home insurance policy covered the installation; and, all was well---or so I thought...

Turns out burning the Koker only during the heating months left corrosive fly ash residue in the SS flue; combined with, moisture during the summer, now I have a major league corrosion problem. To add insult to injury---the 6" flue which worked great with the Koker, and worked great with the S130 too, now doesn't work with the S260 at all. I simply don't have enough draft while the S260 fan is running. I'm OK at all other times; but, when the S260 fan is running I'm getting CO blown past the type M baro because I don't have enough capacity exhausting into the 6" flue... And I'm really getting pissed... And I've tried everything... And the AHS website claims the S260 will work with a 6" flue... This is B.S. I've asked for help from AHS. They've never returned my e-mails...

Proceed with caution. If you move forward with this endeavour with your S260, go with an 8" solution; and, only if you're burning year 'round.

User avatar
ValterBorges
Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon. Sep. 05, 2011 10:12 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: AHS
Stove/Furnace Model: S260
Location: Berlin, CT

Post Sat. Nov. 19, 2011 7:00 pm

Thanks for advice.

Mother in law lives in Portland, ct. Im in Berlin, Ct.

Im on 30ft masonry and my 6" goes into chimney, draft is .04 with the Baro.

I was asking for her house she has loose brick from squirrels, no cap, and is running oil boiler.


User avatar
Berlin
Site Moderator
Posts: 1847
Joined: Thu. Feb. 09, 2006 1:25 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Will-Burt Combustioneer 77B
Coal Size/Type: Ohio BITUMINOUS pea stoker coal
Location: Buffalo/Adirondacks, NY

Post Sat. Nov. 19, 2011 8:45 pm

Valter, I've seen stainless fail on oil heating chimneys as well. I wouldn't throw a stainless liner on an oil chimney for a few loose bricks.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11522
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Nov. 20, 2011 6:24 am

Valter, any competent mason should be able to fix the loose bricks and get the chimney back in proper condition. A slate or stone cap would also be a nice touch.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”