Carbon Monoxide Readings

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
phulklip
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri. Oct. 12, 2007 10:13 pm

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 11:49 am

I have a Pioneer stove with a power vent. The manometer shows a reading of 3. I have several co detectors with the one closest to the stove being a digital type with the alarm set to go off at 30 ppm. The reading on the unit shows 11 ppm. Is there cause for concern? I'm vented properly and with a 100 year old house it's drafty.
Thanking you in advance

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 11:51 am

ANY detected level of Carbon Monoxide is a concern. I would double check all pipes and seals!

murphyslaw
Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri. Nov. 20, 2009 8:11 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: Model 82
Location: South Central, Alaska

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 12:25 pm

The SOP for my dept is we have to go on SCBA with any detectable levels over 10PPM. SO, If I would not be allowed in your home breathing your air. Just to look around, I don't think I will be living there.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 12:47 pm

YES, anything over ZERO (00), would be a concern.!!!

Check to make sure your power vent is working correct and your draft is set correctly. Your gaskets are good, etc...

Is the stove NEW? Could be the NEWNESS of the paint curing on the stove or the pipe.

Sometimes when you open the ash door (to empty ashes) too long or the stove door itself, you will have a bit of CO leak into the room.

Have you Reset it back to 00? and then check it after a few hours or a day? Sometimes they keep the highest readings on them.

When I first fired my stove up with the door open and closed a couple times, I had like 200ppm on my CO, I opened the doors and let it run for a while, Reset my CO and it's been 00 ever since.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4428
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 12:52 pm

Shut it down :!: ...
Ventilate the house...
Clean out the vent pipes and power venter...
Check for leaks after the power venter...
If you still have any CO readings after that...
Shut down and call an expert...
It ain't worth the risk...
I am not an engineer, train or otherwise!
I stay at a Holiday Inn at least once a year!
Most of all I do have common sense and a practical application of logic.
Oh, add humor, on the dry side, along with a wee bit 'o sarcasm.

User avatar
anthony7812
Member
Posts: 4851
Joined: Sat. Mar. 12, 2011 2:04 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: VanWert VA 400
Coal Size/Type: Buck/Anthracite
Location: Colley,Pennsylvania

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 12:53 pm

I have my stove in the basement, I do not have any co detector in a close prox to the stove. The manual actually recommends not too I believ for the same reason that was previously posted, having the door open for a small amount of time. I do have 3 meters located in various points in my house. One in living space, one in hallway by my daughters room and one by my cellar steps which is open(nice big air return) I have had a big fat 0 on my meters since a fired up. I wouldnt let anything go unchecked with any reading other than 0.
Anthony

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 1:06 pm

I have one near both stoves and furnance (in basement), one in the living room and one near the bedrooms.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

phulklip
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri. Oct. 12, 2007 10:13 pm

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 1:24 pm

I have found that the door gasket is bad. Stove is shut down and I'm airing out the house. Thank you all for helping to prevent a potiental disaster.

Paul


CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4428
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 1:33 pm

Good to hear...
Too many sad stories in MA after the big snow...
In one, they actually had a working CO but it looks like they disassembled the detector... :shock:
Was on the bed with a good battery next to it...
The fire marshal reassembled it and it was fully functional... :mad:
End result...
Two people and two dogs dead...
I am not an engineer, train or otherwise!
I stay at a Holiday Inn at least once a year!
Most of all I do have common sense and a practical application of logic.
Oh, add humor, on the dry side, along with a wee bit 'o sarcasm.

User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 2:24 pm

Yes, CO leaks should be fixed immediately.

For sleeping areas, no CO amount should be acceptable.

Just a note, the OSHA Personal Exposure Limit for CO is 50 PPM average exposure over a 8 hr day. Removal of person from source if over 100 PPM.
A small amount of CO is not immediately deadly, but a concern. CO builds up in the bloodstream over time as the blood cell have a greater infinity for CO than Oxygen.
Steamup

"You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself."
Sam Levenson
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler."
Albert Einstein

User avatar
AA130FIREMAN
Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat. Feb. 28, 2009 4:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: axeman anderson
Stove/Furnace Model: 130 anthratube

Post Fri. Nov. 04, 2011 3:23 pm

steamup wrote:
Just a note, the OSHA Personal Exposure Limit for CO is 50 PPM average exposure over a 8 hr day.
Don't the readings for ppm on the detector stand per hour ? I can start a snowblower, lawn tracter then take it outside, in a ranch style garage and have a 25 ppm reading in the basement, with the basement door kept closed, except to go threw it :P :(

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”