Is 100' Cat5 Still Max Cable Length for Coal-Trol?

Post Reply
BeerMonley
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 8:39 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Lesiure Line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lesiure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Lake Winola PA

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 7:44 pm

I searched and saw its recommened not to go over 100' but the post was from 08, is that still the correct info? How long is the one that comes with it?

User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 7:54 pm

Comes with 25' and I don't think the 100' max has changed...

User avatar
Sting
Member
Posts: 2966
Joined: Mon. Feb. 25, 2008 4:24 pm
Other Heating: OBSO Lennox Pulse "Air Scorcher" burning NG
Location: Lower Fox Valley = Wisconsin

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 8:11 pm

I have some runs in my little place far longer than 100 feet.

This has caused a few conflicts -- but only when many users are gaming at once

BeerMonley
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 8:39 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Lesiure Line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lesiure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Lake Winola PA

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 9:15 pm

i just did a quick mesaure and ill be fine with 50'


User avatar
maurizziot
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun. Oct. 05, 2008 1:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure line Coal Stove
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer rear vent
Location: Middletown N.Y.

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 9:44 pm

After 310ft data speed is loss

User avatar
rockwood
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sun. Sep. 21, 2008 7:37 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Stokermatic coal furnace
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Rockwood Stoveworks Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: Malleable/Monarch Range
Coal Size/Type: Soft coal: Lump and stoker (slack coal)
Location: Utah

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 11:03 pm

100 feet is more of a guide line than an absolute rule but it depends on what you're doing. If you're running a GigE circuit over copper for instance, then you need to be more particular but if your just running typical home network connections then you won't have any problem going 100 feet.

BeerMonley
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 8:39 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Lesiure Line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lesiure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Lake Winola PA

Post Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 6:37 am

its actually for the thermostat/controller for my coal-trol so I have no idea what kind of info is being passed

User avatar
nwaelder
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon. Dec. 12, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Syracuse,NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 10:50 am

We have qualified the Coal-trol with 100ft of cable length. Now, with considerable world experience, I'll add a qualification. For cables longer than 25FT, we use 26AWG wire to construct them. The 25FT cables we supply are 28AWG. Cat5 or Cat whatever, cables should work, but I'd find heavier gauge, i.e. 26AWG.


User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 11:10 am

Do *not* plug the coal-trol into a ethernet network device of any kind. :)

We're sending low voltage AC up to the thermostat and low voltage DC (analog and digital) back to the controller module. I don't recall what our absolute rated max length of cord is, but 100' is what we recommend as a practical max. Resistive losses as well as phase skewing due to parasitic capacitance are the issues. If our analog control signals get attenuated significantly or are skewed against wall power phase it can result in problems with speed control outputs.

BeerMonley
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 8:39 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Lesiure Line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lesiure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Lake Winola PA

Post Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 8:42 pm

pvolcko wrote:Do *not* plug the coal-trol into a ethernet network device of any kind. :)

.
wait a minute, you mean I cant plug the coal-trol into my router and controll it from my touch pad through my network?? what kind of junk did I buy??????

BeerMonley
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 8:39 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Lesiure Line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lesiure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Lake Winola PA

Post Sat. Oct. 29, 2011 1:27 pm

is cat6 ok to use?

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Oct. 30, 2011 11:42 pm

Cat6 should be fine.

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Mon. Oct. 31, 2011 8:20 am

Cat5/Cat6 for data on computer networks limit is 100 meters...
This is not a 'networked device' like a computer network...
More like a RS-232 kind of connection which is usally limited to 100 feet or less due to the voltage loss over copper...
It is really the standards built into the communication 'type' that will give the 'normal limits' of what you can do...

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”