Thermostat Mounting Ideas?

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
etned
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon. Oct. 03, 2011 9:23 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono Rear Vent

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 11:21 am

Has anyone come up with any ingenious ways to mount the coal-trol thermostat on a flush wall that looks good cosmetically without compromising it's efficiency?

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6606
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 12:02 pm

What do you mean "a flush wall"? (bathroom? ;) )

Mount it on an inside wall for two reasons, it is not affected by the cool temps of the outside wall, and there is usually no insulation in the wall to make fishing a wire difficult. So, pick out a good spot on an inside wall. Mark 58 inches to the center of the thermostat. Try to locate it next to a stud. That way you can secure to the stud and still have plenty of room to chase the wire through the wall. Go down stairs and make sure there are no wires blocking the way, then upstairs drill a tiny hole right next to the wall. If it's carpet, good! If not, make the hole small enough so it won't be noticed. Go down stairs & locate the tiny hole, now you can measure and drill a wire size hole up through the stud. ( If you're as unlucky as I was you'll find some idiot (me) put an electric wire right there.) Now drill a wire size hole where the Coal Trol will go. Fish the wire up, mount the 'stat and voila, you have a hidden wire.
Orrington, Maine
Fred

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all".

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 1:05 pm

Highly suggest temporary mounting, if possible, to make sure you want it there and you get the control you are looking for before drilling/cutting anything. :)
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/


etned
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon. Oct. 03, 2011 9:23 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono Rear Vent

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 1:14 pm

Freddy, thanks for you suggestion. Looking more for a clean way to mount the thermostat itself on a "Flat" wall with the ethernet cable coming out of the back. But will try your tip for wire hiding.

Paul. Yup, been testing out different areas and different interior walls til I am satisfied with the results. Kinda wish the ethernet cord went into the unit from the top or bottom but will make it work. By the way, I am very pleased with the Coal-trol now that I have learned how some of the settings work. Getting everything pretty well under control. Thanks

User avatar
nwaelder
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon. Dec. 12, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Syracuse,NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Oct. 27, 2011 8:36 pm

A dealer in PA made this suggestion and I thought it was pretty good: Buy two 1/2" PVC pipe end caps (beige). Use these as spacers below the 'dog ears' on the TS2 thermostat. Fasten with longer screws. The idea is to allow for the cord to come out the back, but not go into the wall.

Sigh. We wish that we could have a more attractive and better arranged thermostat. Unfortunately, the cost of custom enclosure tooling is beyond what a small market can support.
Developer of Coal-trol Digital coal stove control.
http://www.coaltroldigital.com

etned
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon. Oct. 03, 2011 9:23 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono Rear Vent

Post Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 7:50 am

Neil,

That sounds like a pretty good way to mount it. I'll give it a try.


User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 8:51 am

[quote="nwaelder"]A dealer in PA made this suggestion and I thought it was pretty good: Buy two 1/2" PVC pipe end caps (beige). Use these as spacers below the 'dog ears' on the TS2 thermostat. Fasten with longer screws. The idea is to allow for the cord to come out the back, but not go into the wall.

Geez, I would think one could do a much nicer job with a piece of 1" X * and a 1" hole saw, either chisel out the wire way or use your circular saw with the blade set shallow or better yet a dado on the table saw... Surround it with 1/4 round and presto!!! A much more visually appealing fix to an issue that a wireless thermostat would resolve...

(P.S.- Paul and Neil, you know I just had to put that little jab in there at the end)
Adam in S.E. Pa.

Burnin' rice X twice= twice as nice!!!
Alaska= Modified Stoker Stove 2 (garage downstairs)
Harman= Mag Stoker (living space upstairs)

Lets Talk ROCKS!!!

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Oct. 28, 2011 11:10 am

I agree on the wood mounting furniture. We actually have a wood frame that we can slide the control into setup at the shop so we can swap things out and also pull the thermo out to test and demo to people as needed. If you have the talent I'd recommend it for a final install option, but for temporary mounting the standoffs are useful.
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”