How Many Amps Are Your Battery Back up Systems

atcfan

Post by atcfan » Wed. Oct. 19, 2011 9:00 pm

hello everyone, this is my first year burning coal. I purchased a used leisure line pioneer stove. So far I am impressed with the stove and coal trol, but I would like to get a battery back up system that will keep it going for at least 6 hours. I work out of town a lot and I can't see my wife pulling out a generator to keep the heat on, plus it only takes about ten minutes and the fire will be out. A stand by generator might be an option but not until next year. I have been doing some research and found that agm deep cycle batteries appear to be the safest to have in the house without exposing my family to dangerous gases. I see that the pioneer stove draws about 4 amps. So would 2 batteries rated at 100 amp hour each be enough to keep the stove going for 5 or 6 hours. I plan on using an inverter charger and I spoke with someone at leisure line that said I could get away with using modified sinewave and only the clock on the coal trol would be affected. Any suggestions on batteries and where to buy them.

2001Sierra
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34

Post by 2001Sierra » Wed. Oct. 19, 2011 11:13 pm

I question the modified sine wave UPS. The motors can really get noisy with such units. A smart UPS would give you a pure sine wave. Home Depot has a device called a Kill-A-WAtt which measure draw in watts that would be useful in sizing. APC has a configurator so you can decide what do buy. They use terms you may not fully understand so if you know your average watts for a given time you should be able to choose. I think the cost will surprise you in a negative way.

Freddy
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined

Post by Freddy » Thu. Oct. 20, 2011 4:34 am