Installing Single Wall Chimney for Coal Stove?

dolphinman

Post by dolphinman » Mon. Oct. 29, 2007 8:47 pm

I'm new at this coal stove business. I've had people tell me for my chimney that I can use 24 gauge single wall black pipe. I'm actually considering it if it is safe to use? It would run from the bottom of my stoker stove II about 4 foot then an elbow to run up the outside of my house to above the roof - 20 foot. Is this safe to use for the first heating season? :?:

coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea

Post by coaledsweat » Mon. Oct. 29, 2007 9:10 pm

Yes, I believe black pipe is preferred and galvanized is a no-no with coal. But only to connect the stove to a suitable chimney. I strongly advise you against using it for your entire chimney, it will perform poorly. You should use a masonry chimney or class A metal.
If you use stovepipe for a chimney, it will not be to code and your insurance company will drop you if they find out.

e.alleg

Post by e.alleg » Mon. Oct. 29, 2007 10:11 pm

whats wrong with galvanized? I used galvanized pipe to connect the stove to the thimble in the chimney because that is what I had. I guess if it burns a hole in it then I'll buy black pipe as replacement.

jpen1
Stoker Coal Boiler: LL110
Coal Size/Type: Rice/ Buck

Post by jpen1 » Mon. Oct. 29, 2007 10:16 pm