How to Connect Cold Air Return to Koker

ricknellenw
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue. Sep. 07, 2010 7:45 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker Furnace
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lopi
Stove/Furnace Model: Endeavor
Location: Waterport, ny

Post Sat. Jul. 16, 2011 10:00 pm

Last fall you guys helped us with the info and direction to install our Keystoker Koker furnace. We did not at that time connect any cold air returns to the Koker but want to do that within the next couple of weeks. We got lots of black dust/soot in our house, not sure if it was from not having a sealed system, or shoveling into the hopper. The Koker is installed next to the forced air propane furnace and using the ductwork to send the heat from the basement to the house, 2000 sq/ft, 2 story, built in 1873. It heated the entire house very well, was toasty warm all winter but sick of the black coal layer even on the second story. Can anyone offer advice?
thanks !


samhill
Member
Posts: 11370
Joined: Thu. Mar. 13, 2008 10:29 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: keystoker 160
Hand Fed Coal Stove: hitzer 75 in garage
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker/hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: koker 160/ hitzer 75
Location: Linesville, Pa.

Post Sun. Jul. 17, 2011 8:31 am

Could you post some pictures, you shouldn't be getting the kind of dust your talking about. If you check on past posts there are plenty of pictures of kokers & both hot & cold air tie ends.

CoaLen
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed. Apr. 09, 2008 7:05 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: Geauga County, NE Ohio

Post Sun. Jul. 17, 2011 9:11 am

I've been running a Koker for the last few years and have not experienced any black dust/soot in the house. I did see dust in the basement when I got careless handling bulk coal. I suggest what's happening in your home is due to loading the hopper when the Koker blower motor is running and the dust created during the loading is being sucked into the open convection fan and blown through the house.
For what it's worth, I'm including some photos of my installation. I encourage you to connect sealed ducts between your Koker blower and your cold air return system. Also, install a removable damper in both the hot and cold air sides to prevent a circulation "loop" with your furnace. We're heating an 1800 sq ft ranch with only the Koker blower with no problem.
Regarding the manometer, I recommend you get on permanently installed. Most importantly, it will give you the ability to always know what's going on with your draft.
By the way, I have a direct vent unit, so the vent is different than yours. Disregard that system.
I hope this is some help to you. Good luck with yours.
Here are the photos:
Attachments
Koker Reinstall4_101709.jpg
Koker Reinstall5_101709.jpg
Furnace Reinstall9.jpg
Koker 002.jpg
filter frame on motor
Koker 001.jpg
12 X 12 filter installed

ricknellenw
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue. Sep. 07, 2010 7:45 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker Furnace
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lopi
Stove/Furnace Model: Endeavor
Location: Waterport, ny

Post Sun. Jul. 17, 2011 1:40 pm

Here are two photos.
Thanks so much for the pictures, they are exactly what we are looking for and want to do with our system.
What size pipe is your return ? Also, where do you find 12 x 12 filters? We have a problem finding them here.
It looks like you have a piece of sheet metal attached with either some kind of tape or screws to the outside of the filter frame and then the ducting into that. Would that be a correct theory? We have not done anything with ours yet because different folks have told us just box in the whole blower motor and tap cold air return ducting into that, but that would eliminate using the filters, which we don't want to do.
Your help is greatly appreciated !!!
PS.......shoveling coal while the motor is running is what is happening. Guess it would also help to seal EACH seam with a duct tape as well.
1017001140a.jpg
1017001148.jpg

samhill
Member
Posts: 11370
Joined: Thu. Mar. 13, 2008 10:29 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: keystoker 160
Hand Fed Coal Stove: hitzer 75 in garage
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker/hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: koker 160/ hitzer 75
Location: Linesville, Pa.

Post Sun. Jul. 17, 2011 2:11 pm

Rick, I have seen the filters at our local walmart, I have been blowing mine out with compressed air but now that I found some I'll get a couple new ones & keep the old for spares. (just in case my puppy decides to discover if they come out as easy as the furnace filter did)

CoaLen
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed. Apr. 09, 2008 7:05 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: Geauga County, NE Ohio

Post Sun. Jul. 17, 2011 6:11 pm

I used 10" dia 30 ga sheetmetal ducts for my cold air returns between the basement ceiling and the motor. In the ceiling I sealed off the space between the floor joists to act as a duct.
At the motor I already had a 12" air filter frame screwed onto each side. I simply fabricated a connector out of a 12" square piece of sheetmetal and a 10" dia crimped starter collar and fastened it to the frame.
You are right about sealing the joints. As a separate project I went thru my entire heating system and sealed ALL the joints, heat and return. It made a huge improvement in the efficiency of the system.
Regarding the filters, I picked them up at a Home Depot in Houston and brought them home. I've had a hard time finding them around here but I did see some in Lowes locally.

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Mon. Jul. 18, 2011 6:26 am

I order MERV 7 and 11, 12x12 filters depending upon the price and change both 3 times per year.

Very low cost online.

No dust in my house either since I have been using Merv 7 or 11. (3 years now)

Stay away from the Fiber Merv 3/5 filters as they are useless for Coal Dust.

**Broken Link(s) Removed**

ricknellenw
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue. Sep. 07, 2010 7:45 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker Furnace
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lopi
Stove/Furnace Model: Endeavor
Location: Waterport, ny

Post Mon. Jul. 18, 2011 9:28 am

thanks for the link, but it is no longer there?


jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Mon. Jul. 18, 2011 12:58 pm

Yeah, I see that...looks like I am looking for another source also!!

LiftedAWDAstro
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon. Feb. 09, 2009 5:02 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker 160
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker
Location: New Haven, NY

Post Sat. Aug. 20, 2011 1:32 am

Here is how I connected mine. I used 14" round duct and tied the oil furnace blower in series. The oil furnace blower blows into the Koker.

Image

Image

Image

Here you can see where I split the cold air return side of the oil furnace...

Image

fasteddie
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed. Nov. 04, 2015 2:29 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: koker lite
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: gas furnace

Post Wed. Nov. 04, 2015 2:55 pm

had my koker lite delivered today. top (direct) vent. can someone shed light on the two air filters and casings and how they attach to the blower? I see 4 retaining clips and 2 round plastic things.

User avatar
ElCamMan515
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat. May. 17, 2014 9:48 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker K-Lite
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Surdiac Gotha 513
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Pea Anthracite
Location: North Norwich, NY

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2015 8:05 am

Fast Eddie,

You attach the casings directly to the blower housing using the included self taping screws. If you have any questions regarding your k-lite feel free to PM me or check out my thread on my k-lite.

Tim

fasteddie
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed. Nov. 04, 2015 2:29 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: koker lite
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: gas furnace

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2015 8:18 am

ElCamMan515 wrote:Fast Eddie,

You attach the casings directly to the blower housing using the included self taping screws. If you have any questions regarding your k-lite feel free to PM me or check out my thread on my k-lite.

Tim
thanks Tim and you may regret that offer cuz i'm a rookie and WILL have ?s. how do I get to the thread?

User avatar
ElCamMan515
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat. May. 17, 2014 9:48 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker K-Lite
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Surdiac Gotha 513
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Pea Anthracite
Location: North Norwich, NY

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2015 9:27 am

Fast Eddie,

Below is the link to my thread. I applogize some of the pictures were deleted, but I can send them to you if needed. This is my 2nd year with my K-Lite so I myself am still a Rookie.

New to Coal With Koker Lite

Tim

fasteddie
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed. Nov. 04, 2015 2:29 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: koker lite
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: gas furnace

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2015 5:47 pm

ElCamMan515 wrote:Fast Eddie,

Below is the link to my thread. I applogize some of the pictures were deleted, but I can send them to you if needed. This is my 2nd year with my K-Lite so I myself am still a Rookie.

New to Coal With Koker Lite

Tim
hey Tim is your K-lite a top direct vent also?


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”