Coaltrol Thermostat and Switch Inoperative After Restart

Post Reply
User avatar
Toniotone
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed. Nov. 17, 2010 10:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Tobyhanna, Pa.

Post Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 10:20 am

Coaltrol thermostat and switch inoperative after restart. Fuse is good. Any thoughts?

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21603
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 11:27 am

Seems like people have troubles w/ the coal-trol--I've been thinking :? where you from toni?? PROFILE

User avatar
Toniotone
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed. Nov. 17, 2010 10:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Tobyhanna, Pa.

Post Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 12:10 pm

Tobyhanna, Pa.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5865
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 2:06 pm

Does it power up? Check the menu to make sure it isn't in IGN (ignitor) MODE, should be set to 'N' no, I believe. The blowers and everythign will be off if it is in this mode and seem like nothing is working.


User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6624
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 2:09 pm

I have heard of a few people having problems with the Coaltrol, but I have also heard of excellent customer care and fast service. Give the Coaltrol people a call at (315) 299-3589 or email them at [email protected]. They will fix you up faster than french fries at a drive through.

User avatar
Toniotone
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed. Nov. 17, 2010 10:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Tobyhanna, Pa.

Post Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 3:17 pm

There is not a signal to the thermostat or toggle switch. I can fire up stove, (with connections bypassing col-trol) but there is no way to regulate coal consumption. also it is not the rj45 cord to thermostat.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5865
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 8:22 pm

hmmm. Just give the guys at CoalTrol a call, they can help you out.

I was just going to suggest the cord/plug to the thermostat. But, sounds like it is not that. YOu didn't extend the cable or anything, since you need a standard straight thru cable not a cross over.

User avatar
Toniotone
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed. Nov. 17, 2010 10:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Tobyhanna, Pa.

Post Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 10:40 pm

Thanks everyone,
All I did was restart the unit since it was a bit warm. The power vent was the only unit that turned back on. Fuse is good. I used another rj-45 cord hoping the thermostat would activate. Sent an e-mail to Col-trol.
Anthony


User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Mar. 28, 2011 12:05 pm

I relied to your email late last night suggesting you call our shop to troubleshoot the issue and arrange for any repair/replacement necessary. We'll do what we have to to get you back up and running. :)

User avatar
Toniotone
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed. Nov. 17, 2010 10:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Tobyhanna, Pa.

Post Mon. Mar. 28, 2011 6:16 pm

Again thanks to everyone,
Spoke to Neil at Col-trol today. Apparently proper procedure at shutdown is to let power vent run after unit is off. Since I did not let power vent pull heat out of stove it tripped the safety. Or it sensed a positive draft (if it were running). The control module did its job. Very good to know.
Thanks again
Anthony

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5865
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Mar. 28, 2011 7:55 pm

Theres great service for you!
Hopefully you are back up and running.

User avatar
Toniotone
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed. Nov. 17, 2010 10:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Tobyhanna, Pa.

Post Mon. Mar. 28, 2011 8:59 pm

Up and running WNY. Control module safety on Col-Trol has proven to be as effective as advertised. Now thats a wonderful thing.

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21603
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Mon. Mar. 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Outatanding :)

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”