Blown Fuse On Coal-trol, No Speed Control

Post Reply
Johnshan
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue. Feb. 24, 2009 11:40 am
Stove/Furnace Model: Econo

Post Tue. Mar. 22, 2011 8:57 pm

I awoke to a blown fuse on the coal trol this morning. I installed a new fuse and found that I no longer have speed control on my blower fan. I have tried to manually adjust it without a change in fan speed- it just runs at 100% all the time now regardless.

How would I be able to fix this?

Thanks

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Tue. Mar. 22, 2011 9:15 pm

Please call us, 315-299-3589, to arrange for repair. Sounds like the speed control circuit suffered some damage. Also make sure the blower is cleaned out, lubed, and spinning freely.

jim d
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Mon. Dec. 08, 2008 7:16 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska//coaljck
Stove/Furnace Model: liberty// cj3
Location: taunton ma
Contact:

Post Tue. Mar. 22, 2011 9:56 pm

always remember , a blown fuse is a happy fuse


Johnshan
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue. Feb. 24, 2009 11:40 am
Stove/Furnace Model: Econo

Post Fri. Sep. 09, 2011 9:51 am

Is there a wiring diagram available for the coal-trol box (not the thermostat)?

My assumption is I need to replace the Sharp chips, but it would be easier if I had a wiring diagram to confirm.

Thank you,
-John

User avatar
nwaelder
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon. Dec. 12, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Syracuse,NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Sep. 09, 2011 10:45 am

Johnshan wrote:Is there a wiring diagram available for the coal-trol box (not the thermostat)?
We don't publish this.
My assumption is I need to replace the Sharp chips, but it would be easier if I had a wiring diagram to confirm.
You are probably right about the chip. However, the fuse blew and there may be other issues as well. We warrant our product for 3 years
and discourage attempts at repairs by the end user. The stories we could tell (but won't) of user repairs gone south is not pretty.

Box it up and send it to us and we'll turn it around in a week or less. If it is no longer under warranty, our repair costs are fair and you'll have the confidence that the repair is complete.

Johnshan
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue. Feb. 24, 2009 11:40 am
Stove/Furnace Model: Econo

Post Fri. Sep. 09, 2011 10:57 am

Awesome! For some reason I thought I only had a year warranty, I will send it out today!

Thanks,
-John

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”