Carbon Monoxide Detector SAFETY WARNING

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12712
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Sun. Oct. 25, 2009 2:12 pm

CO has nearly the same specific gravity as "air". You can expect it to be anywhere it could travel from the source along natural air currents in you house.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

User avatar
samler17
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon. Mar. 30, 2009 2:48 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark III
Other Heating: Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark III
Location: Port Deposit, MD

Post Sat. Dec. 05, 2009 5:16 am

Had CO in the house today after burning for almost 7 days. I immediately shut the stove down and opened the windows and let the house air out. I don't have a manmometer to check the draft. Does anyone know who I can call to get this checked? Does a chimney sweep do this?

User avatar
rockwood
Member
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun. Sep. 21, 2008 7:37 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Stokermatic coal furnace
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Rockwood Stoveworks Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: Malleable/Monarch Range
Coal Size/Type: Soft coal: Lump and stoker (slack coal)
Location: Utah

Post Sat. Dec. 05, 2009 11:52 am

Here is the link for the manometer loaner program.
Manometer Loaner Program
Do you have a detector that registers a level/peak level or did the alarm sound? If it has a display showing a number, have you been checking it daily or did you just notice it today? Just wondering if there has been CO in your home other than just today.
If you give us some details of your set-up (chimney, stove setup details, etc) maybe we can figure something out. This is a new installation right?
"None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free." -Goethe

User avatar
samler17
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon. Mar. 30, 2009 2:48 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark III
Other Heating: Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark III
Location: Port Deposit, MD

Post Sat. Dec. 05, 2009 2:33 pm

rockwood wrote:Here is the link for the manometer loaner program.
Manometer Loaner Program
Do you have a detector that registers a level/peak level or did the alarm sound? If it has a display showing a number, have you been checking it daily or did you just notice it today? Just wondering if there has been CO in your home other than just today.
If you give us some details of your set-up (chimney, stove setup details, etc) maybe we can figure something out. This is a new installation right?
It's peak level was 141 ppm. It has been reading 0 up until this morning. The detector is about 4ft from the stove and I also have another one upstairs outside the bedrooms which was only reading 30 ppm The stove sits eight in front of the chimney they have a Tee with the barro in it with about two feet of pipe and a 90 right into the chimney. I have a chimney company coming this afternoon to check it out.


User avatar
samler17
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon. Mar. 30, 2009 2:48 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark III
Other Heating: Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark III
Location: Port Deposit, MD

Post Sat. Dec. 05, 2009 5:38 pm

The chimney guy recommended that I upgrade to stove pipe to 22 guage and move the barometric damper to 18" above the stove. But it's up and running again in under 10hrs from shut down. Feels good to get some real heat in here. :D Here are some of pictures of the stove:
IMG_0769.JPG
IMG_0770.JPG

User avatar
rockwood
Member
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun. Sep. 21, 2008 7:37 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Stokermatic coal furnace
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Rockwood Stoveworks Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: Malleable/Monarch Range
Coal Size/Type: Soft coal: Lump and stoker (slack coal)
Location: Utah

Post Sat. Dec. 05, 2009 5:55 pm

I agree that the baro damper should be 18" up but I don't think you need to change the pipe IMO.
What type of chimney are you using and does it go up the exterior of the house?
Sometimes chimneys going up the outside of the house where they are exposed to the cold can have draft issues especially during extended burn periods.
"None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free." -Goethe

User avatar
samler17
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon. Mar. 30, 2009 2:48 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark III
Other Heating: Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark III
Location: Port Deposit, MD

Post Sat. Dec. 05, 2009 10:40 pm

It starts out ing the garage and then runs up the outside of the house. I would guess 10 to 15 ft is outside? It's all masonry with a clay liner.

User avatar
samler17
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon. Mar. 30, 2009 2:48 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark III
Other Heating: Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark III
Location: Port Deposit, MD

Post Sat. Dec. 05, 2009 10:45 pm

This is a new installation right?[/quote] No, as far as I know the stove is at least 15yrs old. I'm the third owner of the house.


User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8327
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 5:49 pm

Sunday when I lit the hand fed for the first time this year it took a while for the cold cold chimney to warm up and start drafting well. As a result I set off the CO detector. I guess that was too much for it, I couldn't get it to stop, then it went into beep every 30 seconds and "Err" on the display. Read the instructions and realized it was toast. Happens to be 5 1/2 years old.

I really didn't want to be without a functioning detector, so out I went for a new one.

For $45 I could get the same plug in unit with a battery back up, a 5 year warranty and a 7 year lifespan. For $5 more I bought the sealed battery unit with a 10 year warranty and a 10 year lifespan.
IMG_4343.JPG
IMG_4337.jpg
Heating a circa 1832 farmhouse with a Harman Magnafire Mark I & a 1959 EFM 350 (heating DHW).
100% Oil Free!
"It's what we learn after we think we know it all that counts."

User avatar
lowfog01
Member
Posts: 3895
Joined: Sat. Dec. 20, 2008 8:33 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Mark II & Mark I
Coal Size/Type: nut/pea
Location: Springfield, VA

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 6:47 pm

Wood'nCoal wrote:Sunday when I lit the hand fed for the first time this year it took a while for the cold cold chimney to warm up and start drafting well. As a result I set off the CO detector. I guess that was too much for it, I couldn't get it to stop, then it went into beep every 30 seconds and "Err" on the display. Read the instructions and realized it was toast. Happens to be 5 1/2 years old.

I really didn't want to be without a functioning detector, so out I went for a new one.

For $45 I could get the same plug in unit with a battery back up, a 5 year warranty and a 7 year lifespan. For $5 more I bought the sealed battery unit with a 10 year warranty and a 10 year lifespan.
IMG_4343.JPG
IMG_4337.jpg
Don't forget to write the purchase date on the new unit in Sharper marker. That's a date you are sure to forget but need to keep track of. Lisa
“The media class is the wall that we have to climb over for our voices to be heard. Once our voices are heard, then democracy will happen.” Andrew Breitbart.

Sunny Boy
Member
Posts: 12656
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 1:40 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Anthracite Industrial, domestic hot water heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood range 208, # 6 base heater, 2 Modern Oak 118.
Coal Size/Type: Nuts !
Other Heating: Oil &electric plenum furnace
Location: Central NY

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 7:12 pm

samler17 wrote:The chimney guy recommended that I upgrade to stove pipe to 22 guage and move the barometric damper to 18" above the stove. But it's up and running again in under 10hrs from shut down. Feels good to get some real heat in here. :D Here are some of pictures of the stove:
IMG_0769.JPG
IMG_0770.JPG
Glad to here your system is safe again. And also glad to see you have a fire extinguisher handy.

May I offer some advice ? Do you have a place to move the extinguisher to where the stove is not between you and the extinguisher ?

Paul
So many stoves - so few chimneys. I must be coal-stone crazy.

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8327
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Wed. Dec. 11, 2013 10:04 pm

lowfog01 wrote:
Don't forget to write the purchase date on the new unit in Sharper marker. That's a date you are sure to forget but need to keep track of. Lisa
Already done Lisa! Great minds think alike!
Heating a circa 1832 farmhouse with a Harman Magnafire Mark I & a 1959 EFM 350 (heating DHW).
100% Oil Free!
"It's what we learn after we think we know it all that counts."

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”