How Do You Handle Dust?

Devil505

Post by Devil505 » Thu. Jul. 05, 2007 2:38 pm

I have been heating my home with a coal stove for over 25 years & love it except for the fine dust it creates. Two seasons ago I installed a central vacuum system in the house & find it completely solves the coal stove dust problems for us! (My stove is in the basement family room of my 44" split entry ranch) I simply vacuum the stove itself, the exhaust pipes & fittings, the nearby hip foundation wall ledges & vinyl tiled floor & whatever dust/dirt is not caught in the central vac's cannister (located in an attached shed) gets merely blown out of the house through the vent.
I am, of course careful not to suck up any hot embers, etc.

Works like a champ!

Anyone else use this or other measures for dust control?

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Thu. Jul. 05, 2007 2:58 pm

Vacuum works very well, removing as much as possible before it has a chance to get spread around is ideal. Only trouble with vacuums is the flyash tends to clog the filters very quickly, small annoyance but better than having it in the house.

Devil505

Post by Devil505 » Thu. Jul. 05, 2007 3:39 pm

Just a large foam disk at the top of my central vac canister that I clean out every six months anyway.

Rex

Post by Rex » Fri. Jul. 06, 2007 5:26 am

We will be heating with coal for the first time this season and will be using the Hitzer 50-94 gravity fed. We hope to rarely open the front door to create the ash issue because of the top gravity fed option.

I guess when I pull the ash pan out for cleaning will be the only time for the mess but not sure how much it will create.

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Fri. Jul. 06, 2007 7:59 am