Need a New Thermostat

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
byrdy11
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue. Oct. 24, 2006 3:02 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: keystoker 90
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post Tue. Mar. 06, 2007 7:59 am

I broke my honeywell thermostat for good last night and I need a new one. My xh had bolted it to the coal bin on the side that I dump coal into it, and I was dumping a half frozen bucket of coal in and the vibration must have really screwed it up because it isnt working anymore and I cant see how to fix it. My keystoker came with this honeywell...I think this is standard. My question is, can I switch it out for a digital version or do I need to go with teh exact same honeywell? It will be $40 to replace it, but, I would love to go with a digital even if it isnt as accurate. I'm picking something up on my way home today but would love your input. I'm not prepared to spend too much on this right now.
Thanks!

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Tue. Mar. 06, 2007 8:22 am

Should be a standard 2 Wire 24VAC, so any type should work. I used a LUX Digital programmable from ValuHomeCenter when they were on sale around $20-25+. Works great! Even program it for day/night with override and hold features.

I would mount a bit away from the stove or where you want to control the temp...mine is in the living room, and stove is in the basement.

Like this one.
**Broken Link(s) Removed**
Attachments
thermostat.gif
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


byrdy11
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue. Oct. 24, 2006 3:02 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: keystoker 90
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post Tue. Mar. 06, 2007 9:32 am

Thanks for the information!

byrdy11
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue. Oct. 24, 2006 3:02 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: keystoker 90
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post Wed. Mar. 07, 2007 8:01 am

My local Ace hardware had the same one. I had a ton of extra wire hooked up to the honeywell, so I ran it up into my bedroom and mounted it on the wall. It's great........and it seems to be working ok! It is saving me extra trips to the basement to turn the stove up and down twice a day! I am glad I got it...and that they had it in stock. Thanks a lot.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”