Disposal of Coal Ash

mlg172

Post by mlg172 » Sun. Feb. 18, 2007 12:50 pm

This is my first year burning coal and am loving everything about it thus far. I own a half acre of land and am wondering what to do with the coal ash. I tried allowing it to cool, taking it outside and pouring it in a garbage bag and then putting it out with the trash, but it makes the bags heavy (we pay per bag, and I only put out one bag per week) not to mention all mess (dust) that it makes putting it in the bags. Currently, I'm just dumping it in a pile outside and am going to worry about it in the spring.

My next idea is that I've seen lots of signs for "clean fill wanted", I was going to stop by and ask them in the spring.

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Sun. Feb. 18, 2007 1:17 pm

Hello mlg, welcome to the forum. Ash disposal is often discussed, here is a thread full of suggestions:

Ash Disposal?

Coal ash definitely qualifies as 'clean fill'. I use it to fill pot holes in the many two-track roads on my farm.

I'd gladly take several hundred cubic yards of coal ash to use as a top coat on some of my muddy clay-soil roads. If someone wants to truck it in. :) :lol:

Take care, Greg L

lime4x4

Post by lime4x4 » Sun. Feb. 18, 2007 7:53 pm

it's good for fill and for ice during the winter months.I used a seasons worth of coal ash to build the wife a 500 gallon pond out back.Once your build it up and get it wet and then it dries it's like concrete

JerseyCoal
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Franco Belge model 10.1475

Post by JerseyCoal » Sun. Feb. 18, 2007 9:54 pm