Blower Motor

This forum is for common products and questions such as chimney installations, CO detectors, coal bin designs and a variety of other general topics that do not fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
TD
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2005 1:27 pm
Location: Enhaut Pa.

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 12:15 am

I have an alaska channing III in the basement and I was wondering if I can put a stronger motor for the blower on it? It now has a 265 cfm fan. I ducted the stove to two vents upstairs, I'm getting heat but I think I need more airflow to even things out a bit. I experimented with some inline duct fans and didn't really feel much difference.

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 8:49 am

Hi TD, try making sure you have adequate cold air return to the stove. If you didn't feel much difference with the duct fans, you might be trying to pull air from a fairly tight room.

Leave a door open to the stairway or something similar, you need to circulate the cool air back to the stove to get reheated.

Greg L

Otherwise, I'm not sure you have large enough passageways in the stove to move a lot more air through the stove.

GL

.
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

User avatar
coal_kid
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue. Nov. 07, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: South Williamsport, PA

Post Tue. Feb. 06, 2007 10:18 pm

TD
I just started burning in October and started with basement heating only, and now I have it tied into my ductwork.

I just posted some of my tips in another thread that just started today, basically the other guy was asking the same thing you were. Take a peek. Got stoker - still cold

I'm sure that 265 cfm would be dandy in your parlor, but you need more air moving. I can’t speak specifically on your stove, when I talked to the local stove dealer here about a Harman mag… he said to seal up the vents for the small blower and use the main take off. You might have to make a collector if that stove doesn’t have a talk off like the mag.

I heat my house with a handfired stove that has a collector on top, and two 8 inch 420 fans (840 cfm) tied into my ductwork. One upstairs bedroom that has a long duct run has a 6 inch duct fan (~200 cfm) on an inline thermostat made for baseboard heat (110). That 200 cfm is perfect for that one room.

“ YOU CAN DO IT “

Walt


User avatar
cheapheat
Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat. Sep. 02, 2006 8:08 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska Channing 3
Stove/Furnace Model: Bagging my own rice coal
Location: Skaneateles Falls NewYork

Post Thu. Feb. 08, 2007 6:20 pm

Hey TD, Ive been heating my 1600 sqft house successfully for two years with my channing 3 direct vent but also think a larger blower motor would benefit me as well. I know its an upgrade for keystokers I don't see why it wouldnt be a common fan size even if not available from alaska. Im in the electric motor repair business and see blowers of all shapes and sizes...when I finally find one Ill let you know. please let me know if you find out anything also. thank Jim

TD
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2005 1:27 pm
Location: Enhaut Pa.

Post Thu. Feb. 08, 2007 11:00 pm

Alaska co. e mailed me and said no upgrade for the motor is available on the channing III. So I'll see what I can come up with. This stove makes plenty of heat for the size of my house, I just have to get a little more upstairs.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”