Do You Use a Humidifier?

Lee1
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun. Jul. 06, 2008 11:03 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing 3
Location: Greenwich NY

Post Mon. Nov. 30, 2009 11:59 am

Hey everyone, Do any of you use a humidifier. Ive noticed the air has been very dry after starting the coal stoker and was thinking of putting a humidifier along the stove down cellar. Just wondering if a lot of you use one .?


User avatar
wlape3
Member
Posts: 2553
Joined: Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 7:38 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Auger
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Propane
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Location: Delanson, NY transitioning to SE Mass

Post Mon. Nov. 30, 2009 12:08 pm

Yes, I've used a humidifier for the last 21 years. Used an in-line sears unit on my natural gas furnace. When I had a hand fed coal unit I used a large evaporative unit on the first floor with back ups in the bedrooms. Now that I have another forced air unit I had an in-line unit installed with the coal furnace. Maintains humidity about 40-45%. Too dry and you will have static problems. Too wet and you will have mold. Doc told me 40-50% is best to avoid allergy issues. My wife and daughter both have allergies.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Nov. 30, 2009 12:28 pm

YES. Console type in the living room, Small one in the bedroom.

Do a search, you will see many of us run one in the winter time. There is a thread somewhere on here. I remember talking about this at least once.

Help! Is My House Tooo Dry?

Humidifiers

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9903
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. Nov. 30, 2009 12:48 pm

wlape3 wrote:Yes, I've used a humidifier for the last 21 years. Used an in-line sears unit on my natural gas furnace. When I had a hand fed coal unit I used a large evaporative unit on the first floor with back ups in the bedrooms. Now that I have another forced air unit I had an in-line unit installed with the coal furnace. Maintains humidity about 40-45%. Too dry and you will have static problems. Too wet and you will have mold. Doc told me 40-50% is best to avoid allergy issues. My wife and daughter both have allergies.
If your house has any wood in it, too dry beats it up. Hardwood floors and moldings can shrink and it starts to get ugly. If you have a forced air system, install an automatic humidifier in its plenum. If not, you need a unit or units to maintain some moisture in the air throught the house if needed. I use a big console and it is a pain but a necessary one.

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11912
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Mon. Nov. 30, 2009 12:50 pm

Don't need one in my place! :funny:

User avatar
009to090
Member
Posts: 5101
Joined: Fri. Jan. 30, 2009 10:02 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 HighBoy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500 x 2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice
Location: Warrenton, NC

Post Mon. Nov. 30, 2009 1:14 pm

We have a whole-house humidifier installed on the main Plenum for our forced hot air oil burner. Knowing the oil burner would not be used much, I set up the Humidifier to run the main Distribution fan, so we can humidify and filter air WITHOUT the oil burner kicking on. The Main Distribution Fan is a Variable-speed motor, and it is set to run at 20% speed for the Humidifier. It'll ramp up to 100% speed. At 20% speed, you cannot hear it running, but it moves/distributes the air just fine between floors. when the oil burner kicks in and calls for more distribution air.

User avatar
wlape3
Member
Posts: 2553
Joined: Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 7:38 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Auger
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Propane
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Location: Delanson, NY transitioning to SE Mass

Post Mon. Nov. 30, 2009 7:54 pm

coaledsweat wrote: If your house has any wood in it, too dry beats it up. Hardwood floors and moldings can shrink and it starts to get ugly. If you have a forced air system, install an automatic humidifier in its plenum. If not, you need a unit or units to maintain some moisture in the air throught the house if needed. I use a big console and it is a pain but a necessary one.
Yep, that's basically where it is, in the hot air supply to the house. You can take a look at it here... Installation of Hot Air Coal Furnace With Propane Back up

Hey, Smitty, your basement reminds me of mine when the hot water heater gave out a few years back.

When I lived in South Jersey I used to take out 5 gallons of water every day from the dehumidifier in my basement and that was after I sealed it with Dry-Lock. Very useful to water the garden in a drought.

Lee1
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun. Jul. 06, 2008 11:03 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing 3
Location: Greenwich NY

Post Tue. Dec. 01, 2009 2:06 am

Thanks for the info, I have a 1100 sq ft ranch. Coal stoker is in the basement, do you think I should put humidifier in basement near stove or in first floor living room. (Cellar door is open to allow heat up into living area)


User avatar
wlape3
Member
Posts: 2553
Joined: Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 7:38 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Auger
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Propane
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Location: Delanson, NY transitioning to SE Mass

Post Tue. Dec. 01, 2009 8:55 am

I'd put it in your living room since you live on the first floor.

User avatar
mr1precision
Member
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon. Oct. 13, 2008 6:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130
Location: Boylston Ma.

Post Tue. Dec. 01, 2009 12:31 pm

Another good reason for the humidifier is that it helps the heat transfer better. You'll feel warmer at the same temp if the humidity is up. Hense the phrase, "it's not the heat but the humidity". ;)

Lee1
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun. Jul. 06, 2008 11:03 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing 3
Location: Greenwich NY

Post Tue. Dec. 01, 2009 5:39 pm

Thanks, Lee

User avatar
Mike R
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu. Dec. 03, 2009 11:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Model 140 auger feed FHA
Location: Hudson Valley, New York

Post Mon. Dec. 07, 2009 4:48 pm

Yes !!!!!! Mine is in my duct work.........Makes a very big difference, worth the $240.00

User avatar
AA130FIREMAN
Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat. Feb. 28, 2009 4:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: axeman anderson
Stove/Furnace Model: 130 anthratube

Post Mon. Dec. 07, 2009 5:46 pm

I was thinking of adding a honeywell steam type to my ductwork, but I was told that without the metal ductwork, I have ductboard, this could create a mold problem. Any thoughts ???

User avatar
wlape3
Member
Posts: 2553
Joined: Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 7:38 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Auger
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Propane
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Location: Delanson, NY transitioning to SE Mass

Post Mon. Dec. 07, 2009 10:12 pm

Yes, don't do it. Once you get mold in the ducts it gets expensive. Use a console type. More of a pain but you can always clean it.

User avatar
Black_And_Blue
Member
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sun. Dec. 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska 140
Location: a rock and a hard place

Post Mon. Dec. 07, 2009 10:31 pm

I have one of those 90 degree dryer exhaust deflectors with a filter on it to blow the hot/humid clothes dryer exhaust into the basement during the winter. Extra heat and moisture, win win.


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”