Connecting Stove to Flue Pipe

 
User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 7254
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Location: Orrington, Maine
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined

Post by Freddy » Thu. Aug. 07, 2008 4:53 pm

If the 5" pipe fits proper;y, fine. If not, use a cloth tape measure and measure around the nipple comin gout of the stove then go visit your friendly tin knocker. He can whip up an adapter in about 5 minutes to go from the odd size to whatever you want. If it's steel, drill away. If it's cast iron you'll have to use a nice new drill, plenty of oil and go slowly.


 
User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 13701
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Location: Guilford, Connecticut
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea

Post by coaledsweat » Thu. Aug. 07, 2008 10:25 pm

Oil for steel, kerosene (or #2 fuel oil) for cast.

 
User avatar
CoalHeat
Member
Posts: 8845
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert

Post by CoalHeat » Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 6:22 am

When I was piping the Alaska I was surprised to find that there were no holes in the collar for screws to hold the pipe. I took care of that in short order.

 
User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7102
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post by Devil505 » Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 6:35 am

Or you could use a large "dryer hose" sized radiator clamp.

 
User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 13701
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Location: Guilford, Connecticut
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea

Post by coaledsweat » Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 7:59 am

Don't use a hose clamp, it will not handle a good sized puffback. The Fire Marshall and insurance company want 3 screws in each joint, anything less and you are asking for trouble. I had 2 in the baro and it was blown almost completely out of the stovepipe, it was left hanging on one screw. I was lucky enough to be standing there when it happened, and it was the only puffback I have ever had to my knowledge.

If you use less than 3 screws per connection, consider it a "Death Wish".

 
User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7102
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post by Devil505 » Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 8:08 am

coaledsweat wrote:Don't use a hose clamp, it will not handle a good sized puffback.
My point exactly!!

Never use a hose clamp!!!
:lol: :lol:

(what idiot posted that suggestion?!?!) :devil:

( of course....a puff-back violent enough to dislodge a well clamped stove pipe would probably blow your house down too, so I wouldn't sweat it!) :D

 
gael
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue. Dec. 27, 2022 3:04 am

Post by gael » Tue. Jan. 24, 2023 10:56 am

same thing, need à little help...
here is the back of my stove, the size is 80mm/86mm
IMG_20230124_072606.jpg
.JPG | 233.5KB | IMG_20230124_072606.jpg
the professionnal wanted to put à steanless liner of 150 mm in it....
i know sometime i'm acting liké fool but com'on that's not gonna be possible so...

2 possibilites...

1. i use à 10m flex 904L 80/86mm from the back of my stove till the top of my chimney.

2. i put an adaptator 80/86 to 150mm then i put my 150mm flex 904L

but in both case how can connect both together? (as they are the sale size 🧐)


 
User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 10120
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar

Post by McGiever » Tue. Jan. 24, 2023 11:11 am

Overwrap the junction of both pipe ends with a stainless sheet metal wrap and then apply 2 stainless steel screw type hose clamps, that should do it.

 
User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 29819
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Location: Freetown,NY 13803
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Tue. Jan. 24, 2023 11:13 am

Hey G---------------use inches, more of us will understand what the hell you're tryin to do!!!! Yep, a bunch of old & dumber then some on here. :lol: PS--look for adapters at your local hardware.

 
gael
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue. Dec. 27, 2022 3:04 am

Post by gael » Tue. Jan. 24, 2023 12:09 pm

Ok gonna try with inch, i'm not use to but let's try.

my stove back pipe is 3.38 inch outside and 3.14 inch inside.

the professional wanted to put à flue pipe in my chimney of 10m high, the flue pipe would be 5.9 inch... flex 316L...

so first of all i'm looking for 904L but not easy to find in France...

then law is saying not allowed under 5.9 inch flue pipe... but i'm cowboy... i don't really respect laws.

so... 2 options...

1. i put à 3.14/3.38 inch flex 904L 10m high from the back of my stove till the top of my chimney.

2. i put an adaptator 3.14/3.38 inch to 5.9 inch on the back of my stove then i put the 5.9 inch flex.

in option 1...as both stove pipe and flex pipe are same size how can i connect them? do the flex pipe going inside the stove pipe or outside the stove pipe?

option 2 : same question with adaptator?
and then flex pipe would go inside or outside the adaptator ?

sorry but first time for me that i have to deal with this kind of work by myself.

 
waytomany?s
Member
Posts: 1959
Joined: Fri. Aug. 16, 2019 3:02 pm
Location: Oneida, N.Y.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark II
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Looking
Baseburners & Antiques: Looking
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: newmac wood/coal combo furnace

Post by waytomany?s » Tue. Jan. 24, 2023 12:26 pm

Devil505 wrote:
Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 8:08 am
My point exactly!!

Never use a hose clamp!!!
:lol: :lol:

(what idiot posted that suggestion?!?!) :devil:

( of course....a puff-back violent enough to dislodge a well clamped stove pipe would probably blow your house down too, so I wouldn't sweat it!) :D
Guess that explains that.

 
User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 29819
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Location: Freetown,NY 13803
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Tue. Jan. 24, 2023 2:53 pm

G, you're just gonna have to wing it. Get creative--cowboy or not!!! You'll figure it out. Slow down & LOOK at the set-up with the 6" flex & adapters--You'll get it figured out--don't be shy---just do it---safety is a must. I agree with W--if ya gotta use a clamp---DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 
gael
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue. Dec. 27, 2022 3:04 am

Post by gael » Tue. Jan. 24, 2023 11:59 pm

freetown fred wrote:
Tue. Jan. 24, 2023 2:53 pm
G, you're just gonna have to wing it. Get creative--cowboy or not!!! You'll figure it out. Slow down & LOOK at the set-up with the 6" flex & adapters--You'll get it figured out--don't be shy---just do it---safety is a must. I agree with W--if ya gotta use a clamp---DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ok buddy, hum...the pipe cost around 1000€ for 6" and 500€ for 4" so being creative is a point, spending money through the window is an other one!!
being creative is a point....being safe is another one as well.

So i repeat myself but as the stove collar is 3.14/3.38", which flue pipe is best 3.14/3.38 or 5.9"? which difference does it makes?

 
User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 29819
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Location: Freetown,NY 13803
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Wed. Jan. 25, 2023 8:39 am

Price G & ingenuity----------------- :)

 
waytomany?s
Member
Posts: 1959
Joined: Fri. Aug. 16, 2019 3:02 pm
Location: Oneida, N.Y.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harmon Mark II
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Looking
Baseburners & Antiques: Looking
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: newmac wood/coal combo furnace

Post by waytomany?s » Wed. Jan. 25, 2023 9:15 pm

In my stove the pipe is intended to slide inside.the stoves exhaust collar. I would guess yours is the same. My manual.says to use that size pipe to chimney. So you would use the 3.14 to the chimney, where you meet your code 5.9 to top of chimney.


Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”