Draft issues due to chimney cap?

k-2
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu. Sep. 28, 2017 10:57 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: K2- Keystoker
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Stoker Stove
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Location: Coal Township Pa

Post By: k-2 » Sun. Mar. 04, 2018 12:30 pm

brandonh98 wrote:
Fri. Mar. 02, 2018 7:07 pm
Update: Started the stove back up today and shes seems to be sucking pretty good based on how much the baro is open, although it is cold and shes running pretty hot since the house was cold.

The real test looks like it wont be until next weekend when temps get into the 40's again.
Did you say BARO ? that may be your problem. Does YOUR stove call for a Barometric Damper? Dampers kill draft to some extent even when closed. My stove would go out if i had a damper in the flue stream. Others can chime on this here but I don't know of any coal stoves that use dampers.

User avatar
windyhill4.2
Member
Posts: 6019
Joined: Fri. Nov. 22, 2013 2:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1960 EFM520 installed in truck box
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404 with variable blower
Coal Size/Type: 404-nut, 520 rice ,anthracite for both
Location: Jonestown,Pa.17038

Post By: windyhill4.2 » Sun. Mar. 04, 2018 1:12 pm

k-2 wrote:
Sun. Mar. 04, 2018 12:30 pm
Did you say BARO ? that may be your problem. Does YOUR stove call for a Barometric Damper? Dampers kill draft to some extent even when closed. My stove would go out if i had a damper in the flue stream. Others can chime on this here but I don't know of any coal stoves that use dampers.
REALLY ??????????????????
You don't know of any coal stoves that use a BARO ???

The OP's unit REQUIRES a BARO.

k-2
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu. Sep. 28, 2017 10:57 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: K2- Keystoker
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Stoker Stove
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Location: Coal Township Pa

Post By: k-2 » Sun. Mar. 04, 2018 2:04 pm

windyhill4.2 wrote:
Sun. Mar. 04, 2018 1:12 pm
REALLY ??????????????????
You don't know of any coal stoves that use a BARO ???

The OP's unit REQUIRES a BARO.
Well i can always learn something new. It certainly would make my stove even harder to keep lit than it already is.

Qtown1835
Member
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat. Nov. 08, 2014 11:47 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker '81 KA4 (online 1/16/17)
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: EFM SPK600
Location: Quakertown, PA

Post By: Qtown1835 » Sun. Mar. 04, 2018 2:20 pm

I have a Baro on my K4. Without it it would be pulling close to .10


k-2
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu. Sep. 28, 2017 10:57 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: K2- Keystoker
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Stoker Stove
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Location: Coal Township Pa

Post By: k-2 » Sun. Mar. 04, 2018 2:22 pm

Qtown1835 wrote:
Sun. Mar. 04, 2018 2:20 pm
I have a Baro on my K4. Without it it would be pulling close to .10
I can certainly see where it would help with too much draft.

brandonh98
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon. Mar. 27, 2017 9:55 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Hyfire
Location: Drums, PA (NEPA)

Post By: brandonh98 » Sat. May. 19, 2018 12:42 pm

Thanks to some members on this forum I gave my chimney some much needed attention. Put on a new crown and a new cap. Removing the old cap made a huge difference in draft. I can easily run in 40+ temps now. I still think I would have issues into the 50's though.

I also replaced all the gaskets on the stove when I shut it down for the summer. Hopefully this will also improve the draft.
Thanks everyone for the inputs.
IMG_20180518_161106131.jpg

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 23109
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post By: freetown fred » Sat. May. 19, 2018 2:27 pm

Well done B. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Bins, Chimneys, CO Detectors & Thermostats”