Inverter Suggestions for My Channing 3 Stove

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Sun. Oct. 08, 2006 9:00 pm

I want to buy an inverter for my Channing 3 stove that is compatible with the type of motors that Stokers use. My stoker uses a power vent too. I've read that the wrong type of inverter can burn these motors out. I was hoping someone who has used one and had it work the way it should could post the brand and wattage that they used.

Thanks

stokerstove
Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed. Jan. 25, 2006 4:05 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Kodiak Stokerstove 1
Location: NE PA

Post Sun. Oct. 08, 2006 10:11 pm

I use one with my Alaska Kodiak Stokerstove and never had any problems, but the stove is a very early model.
The inverter is a 400 watt Vector - nothing special. I don't have a power vent so I don't know what they require but you may need more than a 400 watt inverter.
You can total all the wattage for your motors and then go to a little higher wattage inverter to be safe.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Oct. 09, 2006 8:43 am

You will have to watch the AC output, MOST inversters (like for computers, etc..) have a different output (Square wave) which will make the motors hum more thand a standard AC (Sine Wave) output, also more expensive.

I have a std. Computer 800Watt backup on our ours and it will run 15-20 mins, but the motors will hum a bit, won't hurt it.

You could probably remove the built in battery and hook a larger deep cycle (car, marine,etc.) battery to extend the time.

Here are some inverters and ideas
http://www.dcacpowerinverters.com/pure_sine_power ... rters.html
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


BurninCoalInRI
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon. Dec. 04, 2006 4:01 am

Post Sat. Dec. 09, 2006 1:46 am

those inverters are many times the home depot husky brand ones. at HD the 400watt (continuous) inverter is $39 bucks

mjwood0
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu. Dec. 07, 2006 9:28 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Econo

Post Sat. Dec. 09, 2006 6:41 am

WNY wrote:You will have to watch the AC output, MOST inversters (like for computers, etc..) have a different output (Square wave) which will make the motors hum more thand a standard AC (Sine Wave) output, also more expensive.
You have to be careful here. The reason most inexpensive inverters use square waves is that almost all appliances (computers, televisions, radios, etc..) convert the power back to DC. There is no need for the sine wave inverters for those applications. But for motors, I would either install DC motors and run directly off the battery, or get a good sine wave inverter. Square waves will kill motors for any extended period of time (or lots of short periods of time).
Binghamton Area, Upstate New York

BurninCoalInRI
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon. Dec. 04, 2006 4:01 am

Post Sat. Dec. 09, 2006 11:03 am

supposedly, the one Harman provised is square wave too... according to I think this thread, or another, where someone worked this out. is it 100% ? don't know...

Inverter for Harman Magnum Stoker During Power Loss


mjwood0
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu. Dec. 07, 2006 9:28 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Econo

Post Sat. Dec. 09, 2006 11:39 am

For temporary backup, I really don't see a problem with the square wave. But if you're planning on multiple days a year running on a square wave, I'd be cautious. Perhaps it won't be a problem.
Binghamton Area, Upstate New York

User avatar
Yanche
Member
Posts: 3032
Joined: Fri. Dec. 23, 2005 12:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Pea
Location: Sykesville, Maryland

Post Sat. Dec. 09, 2006 12:58 pm

It is true square wave converters will kill electric motors and many electronic devices. True sine wave converters are the best. There are converters know as modified sine wave converters that produce a steped sine wave. This is less costly to manfacture than a pure sine wave converter and will run ac electric motors without problems. Always check the manfacturers specifications carefully, there is a lot of misleading product literature. If it's cheap it is likely a square wave inverter.

Yanche

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”