Coal-Trol/Keystoker Koker 160 Update?

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Tue. Jan. 13, 2009 4:53 pm

Can you tell me when you will have a coal trol that works with a "stock" Keystoker koker 160? I am told that the convection blower exceeds the rating of the coal trol and it is causing havoc on some previously shipped systems. I was forced to go with a koker with thermostat because of this. I would like to order a coal trol when it works "out of the box" with kokers. Thanks


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Tue. Jan. 13, 2009 7:29 pm

I think the CoalTrol has to have the external outputs for the higher amp motors. I would think it Should have been ordered that way, if the dealer knew the higher draw of the larger motor. Since that is an option on the coaltrol.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Wed. Jan. 14, 2009 6:34 am

Thanks, my dealer has been completely useless in every respect. They did not even know what a Keystoker koker was! :)

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Jan. 14, 2009 7:19 am

That;s not good... :(
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
snows_a_cummins
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu. Mar. 05, 2009 9:08 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker with Coal Trol

Post Thu. Mar. 05, 2009 9:11 pm

So, what are the options for this problem?

What parts can be added to upgraded the CoalTrol.

Will Keystoker or Automationcorrect cover this?

Thanks
Snow..

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Fri. Mar. 06, 2009 6:29 am

I do not know. Went with the thermostat instead to be safe and it works great with it.

User avatar
snows_a_cummins
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu. Mar. 05, 2009 9:08 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker with Coal Trol

Post Fri. Mar. 06, 2009 6:34 am

Last night after readying and posting this the current draw of my combustion blower.

The Fasco Motor States 0.74 amps. I wasn't able to get a reading at the motor, I unplugged the blower fan, and the stoker motor from the Coal Trol Unit.
Then with my Kill-A-Watt, I measured the coal trol unit with only the combustion blower plug in.
It was 0.83 amps.(Motor + Coal trol's required power)

:oops: So, I'm corn-fused. Wrong motor... I needed to test the distribution blower. :oops:

I'll get current readings on the Distribution Blower and the Stoker motor over the weekend.

If the Distribution Motor Varies it's speed, what kind of external Solid state relay is needed?

Did anyone try adding a larger Solid State Relay?

Thanks
Snow
Last edited by snows_a_cummins on Fri. Mar. 06, 2009 6:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Fri. Mar. 06, 2009 6:37 am

I think they are talking about the convection blower. It draws like 4 amps alone.


User avatar
snows_a_cummins
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu. Mar. 05, 2009 9:08 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker with Coal Trol

Post Fri. Mar. 06, 2009 6:39 am

Opps :oops:

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Fri. Mar. 06, 2009 6:42 am

Talk to Don at Keystoker he will know exactly if it is still an issue or not.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Mar. 06, 2009 7:15 am

The Relay will only control the motor ON/OFF. You would have to set the speed (if equipped) somehow to control the speed.

The output RELAY (if equipped) of the CoalTrol is low voltage, it controls a larger relay to control the higher amp blowers.

If your convector motor (less than 3-4 AMP draw) is hooked directly to the Coaltrol, it will vary in speed.

Talk to your Dealer or CoalTrol about the upgrade to the box with the extra relay.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Mar. 08, 2009 5:24 pm

If you have a Koker 160 with Coaltrol on it and the convection blower is being controlled by the Coaltrol (instead of by a limit switch, independent from the Coaltrol), then we highly recommend changing the CFM setting to 40. The last I heard there were two possible issued being investigated. One was that at low speeds the blower was turning too slow to cool the motor. The CFM setting change will fix this (unfortunately it reduces the range of speed control available in auto and manual fan control modes, but it is necessary). There was also some question as to the type of motor being used and its compatibility with our speed control method. I have not heard what the result of that investigation was, I will find out where things are at.

The CFM setting is in the advanced menu. Press and hold menu button for 15 seconds or until the "A ##F" screen appears, then tap menu button until "CFM ##" is displayed. Increase this setting to 40.

Update: The correct recommended CFM setting to fix this problem is 40, not 50. Updated references above to reflect the correct value. Also, the motor being used is compatible with the speed control method of the Coal-trol. The problem was diagnosed to be a change in the motor/blower Keystoker uses on the Koker, starting this year. The new blowers turn slower at our default CFM setting than the previous ones, leading to this problem.

More information on this is available in this document on our website: http://www.coaltroldigital.com/documents/keystoker_koker_bulletin_03062009.pdf
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/

User avatar
snows_a_cummins
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu. Mar. 05, 2009 9:08 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker with Coal Trol

Post Mon. Mar. 09, 2009 7:34 pm

Thanks a million!
I just moved the CFM from 25 to 40.

The fan is turning a bit faster now... but if the motor stays cooler, we can live with that.

Do appreciate your help.

Doc Dt
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue. Apr. 29, 2008 11:29 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker
Location: Dorset ,Oh

Post Wed. Mar. 11, 2009 6:28 pm

Read the doc. on your web site (coal-trol)

Is that a model nu of motor or type of blower? (Dayton Type 1XJX8)

How can I tell if this effects my 9mouth old Koker 160?

Or just do it anyway?
Are you part of the problem,or part of the soulition?

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Mar. 11, 2009 7:13 pm

I believe that was the blower make and model number which we've verified has the problem and for which we strongly urge making this adjustment on the Coal-trol to prevent.

As for other blowers, its certainly can't hurt to make the adjustment, however it may not be necessary. For safety, it would make sense to make this adjustment on all Kokers bought (or taken delivery of) in the 2008-2009 period.
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”