Blower Motor

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
charliedm
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed. Dec. 10, 2008 10:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire II

Post Wed. Dec. 10, 2008 10:57 am

I had a Hyfire II installed in November. The installer/dealer did not hook up the 2 265cfm blowers onto the blower housing. The manual shows the first thing in the assembly process as hooking up these fans. The dealer says they are not supposed to be hooked up. Can anyone tell me which is correct.

Also, how much coal should we expect to burn in a day? Say average temp outside is 20 degrees.
Thanks

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Dec. 10, 2008 1:04 pm

Depends on your Install.

How does it distribute heat?

Do you use your Furnance blower and a heat jacket on the stove? If so, that is correct, the built in blowers do not need to be hooked up.

If you don't have any other blowers to distribute the heat, then they should be hooked up.

Let us know your setup or maybe pic would help of your setup, then we can tell you exactly what you need to do.
Do you have the Coaltrol control system to control it also?

Coal Usage? Depends on your house setup, insulation, windows, heat distribution, etc...ever setup is different. I can rip thru 40-60# or more a day when it's really cold (Below 20). But we have a lot to heat. I think we went thru about 6 ton last winter, but that was for 6 months worth of heating and NO natural gas and a big house.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

charliedm
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed. Dec. 10, 2008 10:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire II

Post Thu. Dec. 11, 2008 10:47 am

Hello Dave:

Thank you for your quick response to my questions! This is all very new to me. Would I be able to use those blowers as a back-up if my existing furnace
fan stopped working until I replaced it? Also what are some good uses for the ashes? Is a special tool or guage used to properly set the barometric damper?

Thank you

Charlie

User avatar
morrisfamily3098
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 3:34 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire2
Location: Central New York

Post Thu. Dec. 11, 2008 12:12 pm

when it is snowing I throw the ashes at the bottom of the driveway and let the snow plow distribute them evenly down the road.


charliedm
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed. Dec. 10, 2008 10:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire II

Post Thu. Dec. 11, 2008 12:51 pm

Hi Morris Family:

Thanks for the info! How much coal do use on the average day?

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Dec. 11, 2008 2:00 pm

Yes, you could use them as a backup if currently using your furance blowers.

Yes, to calibrate your Baro Damper you need a Draft Gauge (or Manometer), read the section about Manometer and/or Manometer Loaner Program (if you don't want to buy one) They run about $30

Ashes - use them to fill in around your yard, driveway for traction, etc....

Coal Usage - Depends on how much your are heating and how hot you want to keep and how cold it is outside.
I can got thru 30-60#+/day depending.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
morrisfamily3098
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 3:34 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire2
Location: Central New York

Post Tue. Dec. 16, 2008 9:21 am

depending on the temps I use about a bag a day. I do know when the temps are above freezing my stove stays on idle alot. if it is above 45 all day idle. at idle I am burning about 6oz per hr. at max feed rate I burn about 6.5 lbs per hr. I rarely burn that high the coal trol works great

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Tue. Dec. 16, 2008 11:09 am

WOW! 6oz per hour? I can't even get mine down that low, Probably 1-1.5#/hours, I think I have my Min. at 8, due to temps to keep my draft up.

Maybe if I only burnt one burner and the smaller 40K burner, maybe....

What's you MIN set at?
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


User avatar
morrisfamily3098
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 3:34 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire2
Location: Central New York

Post Wed. Dec. 17, 2008 9:22 am

My min is at 4 my chimney drafts like crazy I never go below.02 I only burn 1 side. only once have I burned both sides that was the first burn. I plan to duct my second floor and will need the xtra heat then.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Dec. 17, 2008 10:41 am

Ah, Min 4, that will do it. I never gone below 6, and up a little when warmer. :)

I wish I could get a duct up to the second floor, but I don't want to cut into anything. it does good now I have one duct in the front stairway, you can really tell a difference upstairs.

I run 1 burner when it's 40+ (Spring and fall). But when it starts staying in the 30's and below, both come on.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
morrisfamily3098
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 3:34 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire2
Location: Central New York

Post Fri. Dec. 19, 2008 3:53 pm

My plan is to run a box in a corner up to the attic and put vents in the ceilings in all of the rooms. I still havent figured out where to put the box yet though. that is a few years off. for now the electric base boards will do

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”