First LL Econo I Fire

User avatar
heatwithcoal
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed. Sep. 12, 2007 9:48 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: AK-110
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: AK-110
Location: Western Massachusetts

Post Fri. Nov. 14, 2008 9:09 pm

Attached are pictures of my first (legal) burn of the Econo I. The inspector was here today and signed off on my install. Yahoo :D . This Coaltrol thermostat is very high tech and can't wait to really figure it out. One observation is on the initial start up with the full feed for 10 minutes, the stove side exceeded 500Fand while my combustible wall is 16" away it was still hot to touch...hummm. Has anybody else had similar temps with the Econo? Anyways the stove has kicked back now and easing into a FS of 0. Another thing I noticed on the first (illegal) burn was that my convection fan did not really come on except on the start up, unless I hit the CFManual on the thermostat.

Its funny , I have a mag stoker in the basement and it now seems like the big heat blasting Goliath that requires manual futzing with turning the lobe and taking a mini screw driver to the control box to adjust the on-off timing etc...Now, compare this to the finely-tuned athlete upstairs (Econo) one touch adjustment to the thermostat and the stove control does the rest. I must be getting old :shock:

Mag Stoker=Center lineman for (insert favorite football team here)
Econo=Marathon runner? maybe?

A big thanks to Mike at M&M Stoves from Fulton, NY for working with me and making the LL Econo sale at 7am on a Sunday morning. I drove 5 hours each way to pick this up . I got extremely lucky and made the right phone call at the right time. He
was just driving back from LL when I made the call to the shop and he just happened to have one on his truck unspoken for.
For all the people out there waiting on stoves, start making calls folks, you never know. I had one on order locally and was not supposed to take delivery until late January. I had that stove shop turn my deposit into coal.
Anyways, now I have the pellet stove sitting next to the new econo. I think I am going to sell the 2 tons of pellets that are taking up coal space in the basement for $1500 and throw in a pellet stove for free.
Attachments
IMG_1636.JPG
IMG_1635.JPG


User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Fri. Nov. 14, 2008 11:01 pm

Looks good.
A buddy made some calls a few weeks ago and found nearly a dozen LL stoves within a few hours of Syracuse NY. They're out there...just gotta call.

lincolnmania
Member
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri. Jan. 26, 2007 9:55 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: alaska kodiak stoker 1986. 1987 triburner, 1987 crane diamond
Location: Birdsboro PA.
Contact:

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 1:04 am

very nice install!

User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 1:33 am

Feed 10 dumps a lot of coal on the grate. Try using the feed 10 option but only let it run 5 minutes and then go back into the round robin display. However, you're not going to hurt anything doing what you did. The fire will eventually settle down. You got to see the wrath of the stove. Coal stove can burn mighty hot.

User avatar
heatwithcoal
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed. Sep. 12, 2007 9:48 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: AK-110
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: AK-110
Location: Western Massachusetts

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 5:49 am

Thanks for the kind words. About half way through the feed 10 cycle I selected something else on the thermostat and it went into the RR display. Does that cancel the feed 10? With regards to the stoves now being more available, I wonder if that is because the price of oil dropping and people are pulling there deposits? Or are the stove makers catching up? I know when I made my calls on the first of Nov there was nothing.
Are Coaltrols available for the Harman Mag?

Mark

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 8:50 am

I think the dealers who ordered stoves for stock are finally getting them delivered.. Just not all are spoken for yet.

I can't believe that anyone who decided that $3.50/gal for heating oil was too much is so relieved that it is 'only' $1.99/gal now that they are cancelling plans to have home heat at the equivalent of $.60/gallon. At least I would not cancel plans to be free of the oil stranglehold. [In my case propane].

Greg L.

User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 8:59 am

Once you leave the FEED 10 display you are ending that function. I use FEED 10 when the wife is cold and I want instant heat. If I put the thermostat up say 2 degrees it take a long while for the increase to materialize. The other day I turned on FEED 10 and the plan was to let it run to 5 but I forgot and was reminded by a blazing hot stove.

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 9:01 am

Very nice! I see you have a Man-O-Meter connected, just make sure to zero the fluid in the tube a few times, as the stove warms the fluid up you'll have to recalibrate it.


User avatar
eelhc
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat. Oct. 25, 2008 9:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman Magnum Stoker

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 9:54 am

Too bad that Leisure Line don't make the Econo with a top vent. If it came in a top vent with similar dimensions it would literally be a drop in for my Vigilant.

I finally figured out how to keep my 28 year old Vigilant going and am enjoying the coal heat (very consistent with no off/on cycles). The Stove sits in the family room but if I turn on the air handler for my central a/c the heat gets distributed through the house nicely.

My oil boiler will require replacement soon and I had been thinking of getting a high end Buderus of System 2000 but now I got the Vigilant going I think maybe I'll get a less expensive oil boiler and replace the Vigilant with a stoker. The trouble is... the stoker units aren't really all that small and/or attractive.

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 10:36 am

traderfjp wrote:Once you leave the FEED 10 display you are ending that function. I use FEED 10 when the wife is cold and I want instant heat. If I put the thermostat up say 2 degrees it take a long while for the increase to materialize. The other day I turned on FEED 10 and the plan was to let it run to 5 but I forgot and was reminded by a blazing hot stove.
I walk over and push the stoker shovel 6-8 times...stove will be at 500 degrees post haste!

User avatar
heatwithcoal
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed. Sep. 12, 2007 9:48 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: AK-110
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: AK-110
Location: Western Massachusetts

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 10:46 am

good point about the manometer, hadn't thought about that. I pulled the tube and will wait a little bit to re-zero. One thing that bothers me about the manometer is that there is no strain relief on the tube where it comes out the top of the main body so it tends to get pinched. I guess I will have to add a staple in the wall to relieve the tube above where it exits the main body.(wife will LOVE that). she already asked" is that where you plan on leaving that?" with regards to the manometer. I think all the guys here know what that means. :D
Because of space constraints, without the DSP pipe, I would have had to have a 2' horizontal run going straight outside off the back of the stove in order to put it in the corner the way it is.

User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 11:25 am

My Manometer is behind the hopper of my stove and out of sight. The wife has never even said one word about it. Can't you hide it better?

User avatar
heatwithcoal
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed. Sep. 12, 2007 9:48 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: AK-110
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: AK-110
Location: Western Massachusetts

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 11:33 am

I will hide it once I feel more comfortable with the stove. I like being able to quickly check the draft. Right now it is at -.02.5 with a FS at 0 Min setting @ 8. I ended up with my total chimney height at 14.5', 3' inside. It is pretty warm here today but I think in the next few days it is going to get colder.

Plus, the wife is picking out colors to paint the kitchen, so it will get moved (the sample paint chips ended up in the picture above)

User avatar
heatwithcoal
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed. Sep. 12, 2007 9:48 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: AK-110
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: AK-110
Location: Western Massachusetts

Post Mon. Nov. 17, 2008 8:27 am

Can anyone running an Econo 1 that has the convection fan running regularly tell me your parameters. My fan has not come on yet except at start up. If I move the CFT to -0- it comes on for a few seconds then shuts off. It runs fine on FSM mode:

CFT-0-
min -7-
max -40-
FS is any where from 0-6
stove body temp 300-325
draft -.02-1/2
thermostat set to -72- and is about 12-15 feet from the stove with outside temp hovering around 30
Am I missing any parameters?

Can the site admin maybe move this to the LL or Coaltrol section of the forum?

Thanks for any advice.

Mark

Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Mon. Nov. 17, 2008 8:02 pm

Mark,
Your feed rate is not high enough to call for heat. Please place the CFT at 2. If your thermostat is set at 72 and its 72 in the house and the FR is below 6 or so the fan is told not to run. This would just put excess heat into the home and overshoot the thermostat. You can e-mail Automation Correct (coal trol) and they will help.
Jerry


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”