I'm Thinking About Changing to a Girlie Man Furnace

BIG BEAM

Post by BIG BEAM » Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 11:56 am

I've been running a Hotblast hot air furnace for the last 3 years.I helped a friend install a channing III stove and liked how simple the stoker was.Soo..I'm thinking about a stoker furnace but have a few questions.

I need about 85K BTU's (min).
Do they all burn rice coal?
I like the simplicity of the Alaska stoker.(I could mount the feed rate box upstairs and turn it up or down as needed).

Don't want a thermostat(don't like the 2* up and down and I don't like digital thermostats)

If some of you guys can chine in and tell me what you do and don't like about your stoker furnaces would be helpful.

Can you also tell me about how much these things cost and who makes some of the better ones?
Thanks DON

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 12:00 pm

I'd look into a LeisureLine Hyfire II search for Hyfire I and WNY's posts, he turned his Hyfire into a furnace..
Keystoker makes big hot air furnaces.
EFM is coming out again with a hot air furnace.
Alaska has a big stove, 180K I think..

Do a search on all the manufacturer sites..

An older Hyfire with out the coal trol is a manual adjustment, since you are adverse to digital controls.. but you need to see the coal trol in action.

Greg L

traderfjp

Post by traderfjp » Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 12:17 pm

If you like the heat from a stoker you can put in the living area and save lots of coal.

WNY
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by WNY » Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 12:39 pm

Yes, Almost all of the furance type stokers will use RICE coal, some can use mix of Rice/Buckwheat, but not more than maybe 50/50.