How Can I Quiet Down an Alaska Direct Vent System?

stevetro

Post by stevetro » Mon. Oct. 27, 2008 10:20 pm

Hi all - first of all, let me come right out and say I'm a coal heat newbie!

Just acquired my first stove, an Alaska Channing III with the Alaska Direct Vent system (not a Power Vent). We installed it this past weekend, haven't actually fired up any coal yet, but probably will this coming weekend. My first impression of this system is that the direct vent motor sounds are just too loud to have to accept 24x7. Since the stove is in the family room on the 1st floor of a two-story colonial, needless to say this thing will be running right near us. I inquired through the dealer and Alaska directly if the power venter system was actually quieter since the motor is on the outside, and the tech from Alaska thought they were still both about the same noise level and attributes the variation to makeup of the room, i.e. hard floors vs carpeting, high ceilings etc. He also mentioned that putting non-combustible padding under the legs, such as teflon washers, might cut down the noise due to vibration. I then did this with some high temp gasket rubber, and I'm not sure if its my wishful thinking or not, but this might have cut down the noise just a tad.

I'm curious if others out there with the same setup have done anything else to quiet this down a bit? I've heard talk of rheostats on the driect vent motor, but I'm hesitant to mod any stock electronics - don't want void any warranties, etc. You can't enclose this motor since it will then build up heat. There is just a small little fan cooling the motor.

Does anyone else share this opinion on the noise levels? Please let me know if you have any suggestions or comments. Either way, I'm gonna be warm in N.E. PA this year!

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Mon. Oct. 27, 2008 10:28 pm