LL Top Vent Coal Stove-Won't Stay Burning???

Post Reply
htrotter36
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu. Oct. 16, 2008 7:30 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer top vent

Post Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 7:59 pm

We bought a LL Pioneer Top Vent Coal stove and we have tried everything to keep this from burning out. We put the ring in and put coal all around the starter bag light the bag and turn the stove on set the auto feed on for 10. We have also set temp on the therm up to 92F. The stove fires up and has a flame and once the ring is red hot I remove it. It burns good and then dies out to within an hour??? I do not know what could be wrong. This is our first experience with a coal stove. We have gone through 8 starter bags all ready trying to get this stove up and running. We also have tried everything we can think of and feel like we have tried everyones suggestions but nothing is working. Everything on it appears to be working but it just won't stay burning????? Does anyone know what it could be or how we can fix this?? The temp is dropping and I am starting to think we will never get this going. :(

choyt002
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat. Sep. 06, 2008 5:54 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono bv

Post Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 9:58 pm

Try to run the thermostat in the TEST mode make sure all motors are working and are working with what the thermostat says. It will cycle through all motors and tells you which 1 it is doing. This will let you know if all the plugs are correct. adjust your min up to 8 and try it for an hour or so may have a slower feeder or have some bad coal. Check your draft are u using a chimney or power vent ? Could be a draft problem
Chris H


htrotter36
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu. Oct. 16, 2008 7:30 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer top vent

Post Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 10:15 pm

We finally found the problem! The grate was not in all the way. After 8 tries and checking everything else we finally eliminated everything else. Couldn't believe it was that. Forgot we moved the stove around when we were getting it set up to hook the chimney up, must have knocked it loose or something. We are up and running :) thanks for the help.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”