Back up Power

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
buickanddeere
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat. Dec. 27, 2008 12:51 pm

Post Fri. Sep. 11, 2009 9:10 am

GettingStoked wrote:Buickanddeere, not sure if your replying to my post or a previous post (quoting helps in that regard) but here are the specs for my setup jsut in case...

Tripp Lite APS750 inverter/charger 750 watt.
Wire: 6 guage up to 10 feet (per tripp lite tech support)
DC Fuse: 150 amp. (still have to order this).

I did a test with a standing fan and it ran for over 6 hours and only brought the battery down to the 80% to 90% charge range. nice.
buickanddeere wrote:If the inverter input is 12V and the output is 1200W. Current on the 12V input side will be 110-115amps. #6 wire is going to get hot and a 40amp fuse is going to go poof.
I was thinking of another post with the 1200W numbers. 750W on 12V is going to draw approx 85amps at full load. #6 is ok on short runs as voltage drop will be limited. The wires will get warm particularly if they are together or in confined area with limited airflow. Ideally 85amps needs #4 or #3 .

User avatar
Black_And_Blue
Member
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sun. Dec. 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska 140
Location: a rock and a hard place

Post Fri. Sep. 11, 2009 9:48 am

In the "what other coal appliances would you like to see" thread, I mentioned a micro turbine generator.

Could the water coil tap be used to drive a small turbine to generate self sustaining power for a stoker?
Affirmed Global Warming Denier.

GettingStoked
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 11:49 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Mon. Oct. 19, 2009 4:05 pm

Now that my stove is up and running I did a test. With the battery fully charged, I unplugged the APC and the stove ran continusly for 4.5 hours before I plugged it back in. It probably could have run for another 30 minutes or so. So all in all I am very pleased with the results. In fact, this past Friday, we had lost power for an hour while both my wife and I were at work and the stove never missed a beat and it was nice and tosty when we got home.
GettingStoked wrote:Went to the local electric place and got some 6 guage wire.. went to and advanced auto and got the terminal clamps and wo-la. Still am going to get the DC fuse.. but for now it's running and charging my deep cell battery. When the charge is done, I'm going to let it run my dehumidifier and see how long it goes. :D One more thing off my list of things to do before the season starts.
Chris

Mossy Beard
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu. Jun. 26, 2008 7:08 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum Stoker

Post Wed. Oct. 21, 2009 6:50 am

Hi all,
I'm back around now. ( I guess it's the season...)
I've not done much with the Tripp Lite over the Summer. I do notice when running and testing, some last Winter, that I get a slight "buss" at the distribution blower. I've not had any failure and it's so subtile I never really checked it out. ( I'm thinking it's somewhat of an imperfection in the sine ?)

Someone mentioned about "line fuses". I'm going to look (can't recall) but I got one on line and it was relatively cheap.

Mossy Beard


User avatar
jgarmer
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu. Mar. 26, 2009 2:07 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line (Great Room)
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman Autostoker (Basement)

Post Wed. Oct. 21, 2009 2:21 pm

I modified an APC UPS hooking up a two 35ah AGM batteries used in electric scooters. Keeps stoker going five hours. And it switches over to Battery power automatically. I have a LL pioneer.
Attachments
superups.jpg

User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Wed. Oct. 21, 2009 3:30 pm

I have two rather big marine batteries but I never have tested how long they will power my stove. I'm thinking about 18 hours but that is just a guess.
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert in any coal or plumbing related field. I only post my own experiences, research and common sense. If you choose to use any of the information in this post or any other post you do so at your own risk.

Art_Baxtr
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon. Jun. 22, 2009 3:20 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer Top Vent
Location: Rochester NY

Post Mon. Oct. 26, 2009 3:04 pm

I just ran a test with my APC hooked up to 2 Marine deep cycle batteries and it looks like the unit will power my LL Pioneer with the combustion blower, Fan, and Feeder all going at 100% for 8+ hours. :D With the stove running at 100% it is only placing a 4% load on the UPS, and in the real world that only thing that will be running at 100% will be the combustion blower, while the feeder and the fan will be running at low percentages for 90% of the time after the stove has been started up. Now I just need to build a nice little case for the entire unit. :)
I don't have hobbies; hobbies cost money. Interests are quite free."
George Carlin

User avatar
jgarmer
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu. Mar. 26, 2009 2:07 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line (Great Room)
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman Autostoker (Basement)

Post Mon. Oct. 26, 2009 7:03 pm

I stick my contraption in the other room and run an extension cord.

joe


User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Mon. Oct. 26, 2009 8:28 pm

I thought my two marine batteries would last more than 8 hours. Hmmm Did you run it until it all puttered out?
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert in any coal or plumbing related field. I only post my own experiences, research and common sense. If you choose to use any of the information in this post or any other post you do so at your own risk.

User avatar
009to090
Member
Posts: 5104
Joined: Fri. Jan. 30, 2009 10:02 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 HighBoy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500 x 2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice
Location: Warrenton, NC

Post Mon. Oct. 26, 2009 8:34 pm

traderfjp wrote:I thought my two marine batteries would last more than 8 hours. Hmmm Did you run it until it all puttered out?
8 hours sounds about right. I got 3 1/2 to 4 hours out of a single Marine battery, feeding thru my True-Sinewave inverter.
Building a TRUE Sinewave UPS for My DVC-500
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Tue. Oct. 27, 2009 12:59 am

I wonder how long a car with an inverter and a tank of gas would last for. I have two of these setups ready to go plus my two marine batteries. I'd love to have a gas generator but??? We also rarely lose power.
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert in any coal or plumbing related field. I only post my own experiences, research and common sense. If you choose to use any of the information in this post or any other post you do so at your own risk.

Art_Baxtr
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon. Jun. 22, 2009 3:20 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer Top Vent
Location: Rochester NY

Post Tue. Oct. 27, 2009 9:08 am

traderfjp wrote:I thought my two marine batteries would last more than 8 hours. Hmmm Did you run it until it all puttered out?
No I didn't run it until it was all out of juice. I ran it for about 4 hours and the APC was showing a 1/2 charge still on the batteries. Also the APC that I have has software that can detect how long the batteries will last (still just an estimate). It was telling me about 550 minutes so I rounded that down to about 8 hours because nothing runs as long as it should. the software comes in pretty handy, so I can just hook it up to my laptop and see all the stats on the UPS, and if I really wanted to get fancy I could hook the UPS up to the home network so it could send out alerts via email when it was running and so on. But I don't know if I want to get that fancy with it. As long as it run I am a happy camper.

Also that load I was putting on the UPS was a 100% for 4 hours. so In the event of an outage the stove won't be running at a 100% most likely and if it is I could get 8 hours out of it.
I don't have hobbies; hobbies cost money. Interests are quite free."
George Carlin

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”