Pioneer BV Bolt Question

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
frankdetroit
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed. Jun. 04, 2008 9:23 pm

Post Tue. Oct. 07, 2008 8:11 pm

when tightening the bolts on the feeder the top left bolt head broke off. :mad: Can one top bolt hold the weight of the hopper with coal or should I do the right thing?
Great stove overall.

User avatar
StanT
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri. Aug. 29, 2008 5:10 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisureline
Stove/Furnace Model: econo1
Location: Ne Pa

Post Wed. Oct. 08, 2008 7:15 am

You already know, I broke off a few connecting the pipe to the stove, Was no fun.

Good luck, Stan

frankdetroit
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed. Jun. 04, 2008 9:23 pm

Post Wed. Oct. 08, 2008 7:17 am

For now I am going to leave it as is- I just can't wait to get it fired up!.


Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Thu. Oct. 09, 2008 8:36 pm

Hi FrankD,
If you would had removed the feeder, you could have reached into the box with a pair of pliers and removed it. Now that it's going to warm up for a few days, I would fix it. It's 1/4 X 20 X 1" hex head.
Jerry

frankdetroit
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed. Jun. 04, 2008 9:23 pm

Post Sat. Oct. 18, 2008 5:14 pm

I still haven't fired it up yet (long story) I just finished hooking up the coal-trol and now to hook up the wmo-1 safety switch. I will pull everything apart and replace that bolt. Thanks

frankdetroit
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed. Jun. 04, 2008 9:23 pm

Post Sat. Oct. 18, 2008 8:00 pm

I wired the wmo-1 (Nobody should do what I did here, instead get the wmo-1 from LL dealer) by taking 12-3 and putting a male receptacle on one end and wiring the black to the one side of the wmo. Then on another length of 12-3 with a female receptacle, I wired the black from this to the other side of the wmo-1. Then took both white wires and twisted them together with wire nut. The two ground wires were twisted together and attached to green ground screw. Then I plugged everything in and sat in total darkness as the lights went out (circuit breaker tripped). Now what. I can not think of any other way to wire this and the wiring diagrams make absolutely no sense being as I am not an electrician. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks


choyt002
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat. Sep. 06, 2008 5:54 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono bv

Post Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 12:03 am

The wmo-1 wiring sounds correct I just took the cover of mine to check. I think your problem would be the male recepticle end that you wired. Make sure the correct side is "hot" if you mix up a plug you would be powering your neutral (white wire) in your wmo-1 and bang out goes breaker. One side of your household outlet is hot one side is neutral and round bottom is ground. Hard for me to get idea accross hope you get where I am coming from hope it helps
Chris H

frankdetroit
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed. Jun. 04, 2008 9:23 pm

Post Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 1:18 pm

I switched the side that the two blacks inside the wmo switch box were on and now everything works fine. Now to get the thermo working and I'll be in business.
thanks

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 5:18 pm

I broke one off today, same place. The ends of the bolts protrude partially into the combustion chamber and they get exposed to the acidic contents of the burn process. This causes the mild steel bolt to corrode. I would suggest that LL adds a notice that these bolts should be coated with high temp anti seize on assembly and recoated at least once a season. I replaced all mine with stainless bolts and coated them with hi temp anti seize.
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”