Lighting a Harman Stoker Coal Burning Stove

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
dustbunny
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed. Mar. 29, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Post Wed. Mar. 29, 2006 6:43 pm

We recently purchased a Harman Stoker Coal burning stove. We have built a coal bin yet so we bought bagged coal. For some reason we are unable to start the coal burning. We have tried charcoal and a propane torch but it just will not start.
Anyone have any ideas that will help.

Thanks in advance
Dustbunny :roll:

dustbunny
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed. Mar. 29, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Post Wed. Mar. 29, 2006 7:36 pm

After two days of attempting to light the coal, husband just got it going. Seems as though the thermostat was not working. It was the only thing we had not checked. Fortunately we had a spare. Talk about frustrating.

Thanks anyhow
Dustbunny :oops:

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12713
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Wed. Mar. 29, 2006 10:25 pm

dustbunny wrote: Talk about frustrating.
Can be for the novice. Depending on your stove the key is to get a very hot wood fire going. There's a product others have mentioned called a "Coal Mouse" that many have had success with.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein


dustbunny
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed. Mar. 29, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Post Wed. Mar. 29, 2006 11:04 pm

Thanks for that info, have made a note of it.

Dustbunny
:)

lime4x4
Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2005 9:41 pm
Location: Palmerton Pa

Post Thu. Mar. 30, 2006 9:52 pm

What model stoker did u get???
I have the magnum stoker from harman. The coal mice work great for starting the coal.But with this warm weather u might find it's alot harder to get it to draft.Mine is still going even with temps in the 70's The stove isn't putting out any heat during the day. It runs just long enough to keep the very small coal bed going..

dustbunny
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed. Mar. 29, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Post Fri. Mar. 31, 2006 6:59 am

We bought the Harman Magnum Stoker. Now that it is finally burning, we are running it on the maintenance cycle. The house is comfortable.

We did use something that was small and had a sort of tail when the charcoal did not work, maybe it was a mouse.

Once we changed the thermostat it didn't take long to catch. Finally got it burning with quite a pile of kindling.

Next is an indoor coal bin with the information we have gleaned from the Forum.


Oil Region
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu. Dec. 01, 2005 12:47 am
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman DVC-500

Post Mon. Apr. 24, 2006 12:30 am

When lighting my Harman DVC-500 I learned the hard way that leaving the door open for too long (like a minute) will cause the stove to go into an emergency mode. You can see this by noticing the blinking "status" light on the controls. The reason for this mode is that the stove senses that there is no firebox vaccum and thus fumes could be entering your living space and putting the inhabitants at risk. The emergency mode limits that amount of combustion air and begins shutting the stove down.

What I learned was that after lighting the stove I need to close the door. If I need to tend to the fire, I open the door for short moments and close it again. I have had much better success since learning this (by reading the manual).

Troy

FedFire47
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post Tue. Apr. 25, 2006 8:21 pm

I have been lighting my stove with charcoal and lighter fluid. Hey if it's good enough to cook steaks it works just fine for lighting the stove. :roll:
Never interrupt your enemy when they are making a mistake!

Oil Region
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu. Dec. 01, 2005 12:47 am
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman DVC-500

Post Tue. Apr. 25, 2006 8:43 pm

My actual method for lighting my coal stove is taken from the manual... I use wood pellets, making a trench across the middle of the burn plate. I light the pellets in about 10 seconds with a propane torch. As the pellets get red hot in about 2 minutes, I push a thin layer of coal up to the red hot pellets (being careful not to smother them). I add a few more pellets if necessary to keep things going. Ususally the coal will start burning shortly, and then the stove takes over. It takes about 15 minutes total. I have left too soon at times and the pellets burned out before the coal actually started.

Troy

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”