Coal-Trol V3 Firmware Features

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Oct. 10, 2008 2:18 pm

I am sending in on Sat. (with RMA #).

You guys should have it by Tuesday. I will send in the entire unit being an older TS1 thermostat for the upgrade.

Thanks for this service.!! :)
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Sat. Oct. 11, 2008 9:28 pm

Got mine back very quickly!

thanks, guys.
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Oct. 17, 2008 7:11 am

Got it on Thursday!! and monday was a postal holiday. WOW, these guys are fast. Got it hooked up and fired up when we got home and it up and running fine!! Just have to learn all the new features....Had one setting problem (duh, I don't have an ignitor, forget to turn it off.), and Paul walked me thru the setup menu in a few minutes and it worked!!

Thanks Coal-Trol... :)
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 7:05 pm

Here's one....

I set the fan speed to 45. About 20-30 minutes later the fan starts blowing at 100% and the tstat shows fan as FSA. Ideas? Does manual fan reset itself after a certain time limit? A few times the fan would run at 100 for a few seconds, then drop then cycle like this for a minute or so then settle down...
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 8:01 pm

Go back to Pg. 1 and read the features, it does override the manual settings after a while, and it has a Fan BOOST setting to eliminate sticking fans that can't start out slow.

Freaked me too the first time. :)
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 8:09 pm

Hmmmm...that really defeats the purpose of a manual setting for me. My fans are noisy at anything over a setting of 50 so I wanted to run them all the time at 45 or so. Crap.

Last night mine was doing this dance where the fans would go to 100, then down then back and so forth...this went on for at least a minute. That doesn't sound like a fan boost to kick start a sticky fan.
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 8:46 pm

WNY wrote:Go back to Pg. 1 and read the features, it does override the manual settings after a while, and it has a Fan BOOST setting to eliminate sticking fans that can't start out slow.

Freaked me too the first time. :)


Mine went 3+ hours last night on manual....never reset to automatic....weird....
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Oct. 27, 2008 7:34 am

Mine did the same thing in the middle of the night, 100%, then down, then 100% then down, like 3 or 4 times in row?

Neil/Paul? what gives? I know it supposed to kick up once and then back down, but 3 or 4 times in a row?
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Tue. Oct. 28, 2008 2:08 pm

Your probalby reset if it was calling for heat and the feedrate went over the threshold for the Fan Setting...probalby why it kicked it out of manual control.

Manual convection fan safety: We've added a safety feature which will automatically return convection fan control back to automatic if the speed is set too slow for too long compared to the feedrate. In this way the control cannot be accidentally left in a state that will allow the stove to overheat. I'll post more about this later.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

DJW
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue. Oct. 07, 2008 9:47 am
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker 105
Stove/Furnace Model: 105

Post Thu. Nov. 06, 2008 9:31 am

Pvolcka, Is it your recommendation to upgrade the firmware on the TS1 trol? and if I want it done could I bring it into you sometime and have you do it right then? I don't like far from syracuse.would save a lot of down time?
Thanks,djw

User avatar
morrisfamily3098
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 3:34 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire2
Location: Central New York

Post Thu. Nov. 06, 2008 11:53 am

That manfan setting is all numbers. if your feed rate doesnt go high enough it will stay in manual until it does. the magic # is 3600 I beleve. I forget the exact formula but it was explaned in this thread 1st page

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Nov. 09, 2008 10:52 am

WNY and others. I've posted about the fan start/stop cycling at: Convection Fan Start/Stop Cycling
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Nov. 09, 2008 10:56 am

DJW wrote:Pvolcka, Is it your recommendation to upgrade the firmware on the TS1 trol? and if I want it done could I bring it into you sometime and have you do it right then? I don't like far from syracuse.would save a lot of down time?
Thanks,djw


We aren't recommending firmware upgrades as a general matter. It is up to each customer to decide if the new features are worth it or not. If you want it done you can call to arrange a time to bring the thermostat in for the upgrade. Make sure to call ahead and to tell them that it is an upgrade of a TS1 and how old your Coal-trol is so they can tell you what you need to bring in.
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/

newcastle
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat. Aug. 09, 2008 3:52 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono bv
Location: Massachusetts (Central)

Post Fri. Nov. 14, 2008 1:03 pm

I would also support request for upgrade to back lit thermostat - I find it very difficult to read!!
It would also be very useful to have a COMPREHENSIVE glossary of all the acronyms used, including the discontinued ones, available for look-up online.

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Sat. Nov. 15, 2008 2:36 pm

I've been thinking about adding a page to the coal wiki/knowledge-base that Richard has where I would detail all this. Would have it on our website too.
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”