Hyfire II

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
User avatar
Rick 386
Member
Posts: 2474
Joined: Mon. Jan. 28, 2008 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA 260 heating both sides of twin farmhouse
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Hyfire II w/ coaltrol in garage
Coal Size/Type: Pea in AA 260, Rice in LL Hyfire II
Other Heating: Gas fired infared at work
Location: Royersford, Pa
Contact:

Post Fri. Sep. 19, 2008 9:55 am

Jerry,

Just a quick note to let you know I fired up my Hyfire II yesterday for the first time. I wanted to cure the paint and just give the thing a spin. I ramped it up to full burn for about 1 hour.

WHAT AN AWSOME HEAT MACHINE !!!!! I couldn't believe the heat coming off that puppy. I did have to fire both burners because .....why not ????

This unit is replacing my old Alaska Kodiak Stoker II. It was just like Articcatmatt's stove. Old Alaska Kodiak Stoker II Rebuild

Now all I have to do is install the heat jacket and possibly run some new ductwork. I'm not sure if I want to try to tie it into the existing rectangular or just run some new round. I'm anxious to see how well and how far that 14" fan is going to push it.

I can't wait to keep this thing lit !!!!!!!

Rick Dotterer
Master of "Trial and Error."


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Sep. 19, 2008 10:01 am

Congrats! I love our Hyfire I, (wish it was a II), but I will be getting a custom heat jacket made hopefully soon to hook it up to my duct work. I just have an 8" duct off the top (I cut a hole in the top plate), we only have duct work to the first floor.

Ours definitely kicks out the heat too compared to the Keystoker we still have to supplement in the Garage plumbed to the second floor.

enjoy! :)
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”