Page 1 of 1

Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Sun. Feb. 11, 2024 8:12 pm
by Johnny Mac
While I was away on a trip, the power went out at my house. By the time I got home, it came back on. So I went downstairs ro restart my coal stove.

I started it as I always have. Put a coal mouse in the chute, cover it with coal, light the wick, close the door, hit the on switch on the control module... nothing!

The light came on on the power switch. But the fans didn't come on. I walked over to the coal-trol thermostat and the screen is blank. It's off!!!

I checked the fuse, all connections. I even plugged the fans into the receptical and they came on with direct power. But I can't come up with any solution.

Did the power outage fry my coal-trol?

Now i dont have any heat with a snow storm on its way. Please tell me I don't have to buy a $300 dollar thermostat. Does anyone have a solution?

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 1:14 am
by lincolnmania
Did you check the fuse on the coal trol module? for the time being unplug the stoker motor and combustion air motor and convection air plugs from your coal trol module and run the stove manually. adjust the feed rate according to how much heat you need.

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 1:31 am
by xackley
Try a different ethernet cable.
As to running it manually, there is a slight chance a rheostat might work to slow down the feeder enough so hot coal doesn't push off the end.

Call coaltrol at (315)299-3589

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 6:33 am
by kodadog
What is a good model rheostat for the feed motor?

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 9:07 am
by Johnny Mac
I unplugged everything to drain the capacitors in attempts to reset the thermostat. I'll give that number a call tomorrow. I'm a truck driver,and it looks like I'll be home because of the snow.

Thankfully, I do have oil as a backup. But the oil only heats the the one floor in my house.

I don't know if I can run it without the thermostat.

Here's some pics.

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 6:17 pm
by lincolnmania
you can run without the thermostat and a rheostat, i did at my old shop. my rheostat went bad one winter and i could not afford the coal trol until heating season was over.

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 7:32 pm
by xackley
lincolnmania wrote:
Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 6:17 pm
you can run without the thermostat and a rheostat, i did at my old shop. my rheostat went bad one winter and i could not afford the coal trol until heating season was over.
You are not telling how you controlled the feed rate?

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 7:49 pm
by lincolnmania
xackley wrote:
Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 7:32 pm
You are not telling how you controlled the feed rate?
I thought I did in another reply. Use the thumbscrew on the feed arm attached to the feed motor to adjust the feed rate.

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 7:58 pm
by kodadog
If it's a LL feed motor there is no thumbscrew on the feed arm. Would need an adjustable rheostat(potentiometer) to slow the motor rotation(feed rate). Not sure what model is best. Or a basic pin timer connected to the motor?

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 8:26 pm
by lincolnmania
kodadog wrote:
Mon. Feb. 12, 2024 7:58 pm
If it's a LL feed motor there is no thumbscrew on the feed arm. Would need an adjustable rheostat(potentiometer) to slow the motor rotation(feed rate). Not sure what model is best. Or a basic pin timer connected to the motor?
Looks like a Reading. They have a triburner style stoker. Alaska used to use the same setup.

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Tue. Feb. 13, 2024 6:36 am
by Johnny Mac
Thanks everyone!

I am gonna look for that screw to control it manually for incase I need it in the future.

So I emailed coal-trol and they told me to unplug the thermostat for a while to drain the capacitors and reset it. So I did that. I left it unplugged for nearly an entire day to be sure, and then hooked it back up to the control module and it came back on.

I am surprised that that is all it was considering that it stopped working after a power outage. But regardless, I'm happy.

Re: Coal-trol fried???? :o

Posted: Tue. Feb. 13, 2024 2:45 pm
by Benny
Thanks for posting this, I have same setup in my garage 9 years never had a problem, good too know there’s a fix.