Unburnt Coal in Ash

rharris
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by rharris » Sat. Feb. 05, 2022 2:29 pm

I am new to burning coal at home and currently have an Alaska Stoker II. I'm using the stove to heat a 40x60x12 pole building that has the entire shell sprayfoamed and the highest insulated doors. The stove does a fine job of heating the building, but I seem to have a lot of leftover unburnt coal in the ash. I'm using about 140+ pound a day. The stove is a rear vent with about 9' of inside single wall and then insulated double wall through the wall and about another 7' up the outside of the building. Draft seems to be sufficient. I did install a barometric damper, but have not checked it with a manometer. The stove was used lightly, but in great condition. Blower's are clean, gaskets are good, and grate holes are open. I have attached some pictures hoping that I can confirm that there is excessive coal leftover and for some suggestions. I did try cracking a window in the garage after wondering if the building is too tight. I have tried different coal, and one of them is the same coal my buddy is burning without issue. I hope I can get it burning correctly and more efficient - it does provide great heat. Thanks in advance for any help.

Attachments

stove.jpg
.JPG | 52.1KB | stove.jpg
ash 2.jpg
.JPG | 146.3KB | ash 2.jpg
ash.jpg
.JPG | 82KB | ash.jpg

rharris

Post by rharris » Sat. Feb. 05, 2022 2:38 pm

I have also adjusted the feed rate from 3 down to 1 and the ash was consistent. I now have the Alaska thermostat control and have a simple thermostat on. It produces the same ash at any feed rate or idle

nepacoal
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KAA-4 / "Kelly" and an EFM 520 at my in-laws
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Harman SF-260 - retired
Coal Size/Type: Buck

Post by nepacoal » Sat. Feb. 05, 2022 2:39 pm

Are you pushing burning coal into the ash bucket? Can you take a picture of your fire while it's running full out?

rharris