Alaska 140 set up.

sitdwnandhngon
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Stoker II

Post by sitdwnandhngon » Tue. Jan. 11, 2022 7:07 pm

I've been using an Alaska Stoker II with a duct collar for a few years, it does okay...until the temperature gets down below 15-20 degrees....then it just can't keep up.

Today I picked up an used Alaska 140 dual feed to replace it. I gave it a good inspection before bringing it home, fire box is in good shape, grates look brand new. The lady said after losing her husband she just didn't want to deal with it anymore.

I have it mostly apart right now to give it a full cleaning and change out the gaskets, but I was wondering if anyone had any guidance on how the controllers work.

My Stoker has everything wired into a J box, so one plug turns it on, and feed speed is controlled by the screw behind the carpet thing. The 140 has paddles instead of a carpet, and three controllers.

There is a blue box that says Vari-Speed, then two more with numbered dials that plug into each box for the feeds.

There is also a thermostat on the plenum that goes between the blue controller and the blower, I assume that just kicks the blower on and off in intervals.

For my install I want to eliminate the thermostat and just run the blower full time like my current stove.

The instructions that came with it aren't very good, but here's what I'm assuming, correct me if I'm wrong please.

The blue box will control blower speed with the dial, and the two feed dials should control feed speed of the paddles correct?

When I did a quick test of the black dial boxes, it didn't appear to change the speed of the paddles, but it was just a quick test to make sure things worked when I plugged them in.

LTStorm07
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1980 EFM DF520
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska Stoker II
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Heat pump / Propane

Post by LTStorm07 » Tue. Jan. 11, 2022 7:18 pm

Good evening,