Looking for Advice for Coal Insert

BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 4:44 pm

I have a coal furnace in the basement,But would like a coal insert .40K or 50k ish.will use the furnace for most of the heat but we like it wamer in the LR and parlor.We'll light it when we get home at night and run it through the night.I'm thinking stoker,EZer to relight every night and glass door to see the fire.What's a good one and does anyone use their stoker like this(relight every night)
DON


BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 6:00 pm

I just did some searching,does anyone even make a stoker insert?Hitser and Harman don't.
DON

ScottD
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu. Jun. 12, 2008 11:18 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth Stoker
Location: Eastern Mass

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 6:16 pm

I don't think so. The one most used, from what I see, is the Hitzer. It has a gravity feed hopper so it's closer in relation to the stokers and doesn't need electricity. That's a nice feature. You will see a few people on this forum with Hitzer inserts.

Scott

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4467
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 6:43 pm

Hitzer hopper fed 503 uses electric for the blowers. You will not get much heat out of an insert without the fans.
A link to some pictures of the 503.
Hitzer 503 Arrives

Not an insert but this is close to what you want.
**Broken Link(s) Removed**

ScottD
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu. Jun. 12, 2008 11:18 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth Stoker
Location: Eastern Mass

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 8:16 pm

CapeCoaler is correct about the electricity. I meant to word it, you don't need electricity to keep it running. If you lose power in the night, it will stay fired and when the power comes back on it will then blow hot air and resume heating. I have the Alaska Hearth and fits nicely in front of and partially in my fireplace. My stove you need electricity to keep it running. If I lose power for any extended time, I will have to relight it. My stove sits about 19" off the fireplace front. Might be worth a look for you if you want a stoker.

BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 8:33 pm

I just looked at the Harman (pics) and that looks like a nice stove.Well let me rephrase that MY WIFE likes the looks of it.It's a little big BTU wise but I guess you can always throtle it down a bit.I like the stoker thing but it don't look like anyone makes one.I think you can throtle the stokers down to like 5 or 10K BTU's or am I wrong on this.
DON

BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 8:42 pm

Hey CapeCoaler
Thoes pics you took make that stove look better than the pics on the sites I've looked at.What does that burn pea coal? the holes in the grate look small compared to my hotblast(USS)
DON

User avatar
Razzler
Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed. Dec. 19, 2007 7:56 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: Northampton Pa.

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 8:50 pm

Did you look at http://www.leisurelinestoves.com/ They have a hearth stoker stove that can set in front of the fire place.:notsure:


ScottD
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu. Jun. 12, 2008 11:18 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth Stoker
Location: Eastern Mass

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 8:51 pm

My Alaska Hearth is rated from 5K BTU to 85K BTU.

BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 9:20 pm

Yeah scott that's why I like the stoker thing.This is going to be more for looks than for heat.Like I said we have a coal furnace in the cellar and an oil furnace and a wood stove and the house is only about 1600 sq. ft. If it was up to me I'd leave the fireplace the way it is but I gotta keep the little lady happy too. :inlove:
DON

User avatar
Matthaus
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon. Oct. 02, 2006 8:59 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110 Dual Fuel, natural gas
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Lil' Heater (rental house)
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Buckwheat Anthracite
Location: Wilkes Barre, PA

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 9:47 pm

I just sold a very nice Keystoker 90 hearth model with Coal-Trol to jackcoyle. That unit looks very nice on a hearth and is easy to run with the the improved control. You can even add the automatic ignition and start and stop the thing at your whim. :)

ScottD
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu. Jun. 12, 2008 11:18 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth Stoker
Location: Eastern Mass

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 10:31 pm

Big Beam,
You sayin my stoves ugly? :mad:
Just kidding. :) Everyones needs are different. For me it was about space and heat. It is in my main living room.
Attachments
Misc 08 pics 162.jpg

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4467
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 11:52 pm

Hey CapeCoaler
Thoes pics you took make that stove look better than the pics on the sites I've looked at.What does that burn pea coal? the holes in the grate look small compared to my hotblast(USS)
DON
The 503 will burn Pea, Nut and Stove sized coal. No barometric damper possible/feasible when installed in a former fireplace so I think the grate is designed to limit airflow along with the built-in damper. Wanted to get some shots of the stove because I too found the lack of good pictures frustrating. Going to install a insulated liner because the existing 12 by 12 flue is too large for the 503, at least I know the draft will be good for spring and fall burning. You can throttle the 503 down also about 20% of full rating if you have good draft.

bustedwing
Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun. May. 11, 2008 1:48 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: LL Pioneer
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Hot air oil
Stove/Furnace Make: LeisureLine
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: south central pa

Post Thu. Aug. 14, 2008 3:20 am

I looked at the Harman insert but rejected the idea because it "HAS" to have electricity to the blowers to keep the unit from overheating and warping the grates and voiding the warranty.At least that's what the small print in their literature or downloadable manual states.In my mind the only reason to get a hand fired anything is to be free of the electrical cord.Got a LL Pioneer stoker,if the power goes off long enough the fire goes out and all is well,the oil burner will keep the pipes from freezing till I get home. 2 cents worth .RichB

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Thu. Aug. 14, 2008 6:40 am

bustedwing wrote:I looked at the Harman insert but rejected the idea because it "HAS" to have electricity to the blowers to keep the unit from overheating and warping the grates and voiding the warranty.
Is that from Harman's owner's manual/brochure? If so, I'd be surprised because you can keep a coal fire very low by just not over-firing it & I just use my blower to move more warm air around on cold days. Please post the wording from Harman that says that.


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”