Keystoker Koker With Coal Trol

Post Reply
jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Tue. Aug. 05, 2008 8:31 am

Does the Coal Trol provided with the koker when ordered control the following so I do not have to worry about making manual changes on the koker?

"The adjustable stoker mechanism that pushes coal from the hopper bin into the fire. The adjustable stoker mechanism allows you to throttle the Koker's output to match your BTU requirements."

thanks

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Aug. 07, 2008 11:49 am

The Coal-trol does control how much fuel the stoker feeds into the fire from the hopper. It also controls the combustion fan and the convection blower.

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Thu. Aug. 14, 2008 2:02 pm

The Coal trol that is shipped with the koker 160 when you place and order does all this? Thank you


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Aug. 14, 2008 3:03 pm

it doesn't physically control the screw, you set your setting on the stove to maximum stroke (most stoves, screw all the way in), then you can select thru the CoalTrol keypad Thermostat the MIN and MAX feed rates (0-100) to match your stove requirements.

Every stove has different stroke rates to control the idle and max burn rates. My Hyfire runs about MIN 6 and 48 Max without pushing hot coals off the end or going out on idel. You may have to tweek the adjustments (up/down) to maximize your stove requirements. But initial setup and adjustment, it maintains the stove output where you set your thermostat.

I have been very happy with my upgraded stove to the Coal Trol, it only had speed (slow/fast) for stoker/fan rates. No thermostat or anything. Just speed it up for more heat or slow it down for less heat, I needed something automatic.

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Aug. 14, 2008 3:18 pm

The Koker may have a bonnet limit switch installed which controls the convection blower instead of the Coal-trol. But otherwise, yes, jrn.

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Fri. Aug. 15, 2008 6:19 am

Wow, that's amazing!

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”