What happens when a LL Pocono runs out of coal?

Sammi
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Pocono
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by Sammi » Thu. Nov. 19, 2020 9:17 am

Good morning,

I'm very new to burning coal, and could not find an answer to my question with the search function..
What happens when a stoker stove runs out of coal? Do the fans shut down or do they continue running? I'm gone for several days at a time fairly often, and I was wondering about this. Will I come home to the fans running full tilt?
I have a (used) LL Pocono, with Coal Trol and Could not find info on this.. Thank you in advance!
Sammi

lincolnmania
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: reading allegheny stoker
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: alaska kodiak stoker 1986. 1987 triburner, 1987 crane diamond
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post by lincolnmania » Thu. Nov. 19, 2020 3:09 pm

pretty sure everything still runs after the hopper is empty and the fire is out.

Sammi

Post by Sammi » Thu. Nov. 19, 2020 4:11 pm

Hmm.. will that cause problems? Aside from wasting electricity and blowing around cold air, that is.

WNY
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I

Post by WNY » Thu. Nov. 19, 2020 5:16 pm

Nope, nothing bad happens. blowers will continue to run, fire will burn itself out, since there is no more coal to be fed. It may burn back a bit on the plate and might have a little sulfur smell that MAY come out of the hopper where the coal is empty and fire hasn't completely burnt out. mine has run out of coal before, the stoker and blowers will continue to run until shutoff manually/unplugged, or just fill it back up and relight it. You could always set back the temp, so it idles a lot and coal will last longer.

Always Make sure you working CO detectors.

You can look at a plug in temp. controller, if the temp gets too low, it would shut off the stove or something like that.

Sammi

Post by Sammi » Thu. Nov. 19, 2020 9:03 pm