Help me pick a stove!

McMillan2015
Other Heating: Baseboard electric, kerosene heater

Post by McMillan2015 » Wed. Sep. 30, 2020 4:41 pm

*posted in another board but not sure if I used the right one.

Hello! I'm completely new to coal. I've been researching and researching and starting to feel overwhelmed so...here is the deal:

Bought a 1871 farmhouse last winter. Roughly 1600 sq ft of living space with 2 floors and an unfinished basement. Lived off space heaters and baseboard heaters upstairs. We were COLD. We had our pipes freeze 3 times between December and April. Our basement is a walkout basement. Chimney is unusable due to the new roof being built over top of it. We have an old oil furnace that vented through the chimney and all ductwork still available.

So, my questions is...would a hyfire 180 or keystoker koker be best? Or is there another option to consider?

StokerDon
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Gentleman Janitor GJ-5, Van Wert VA-600, Axeman Anderson130 X3.
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500 reduced down to 3 grates connected to its own plenum
Coal Size/Type: Rice, Chestnut and whatever will fit through the door on the Harman
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood

Post by StokerDon » Wed. Sep. 30, 2020 6:56 pm

Welcome to the forum Mc,

Since you listed stoker stoves/furnaces I moved you question to that section.

I moved into a similar house years ago and my solution was a Harman MK2. It heated my 800 sq ft house built in 1816 completely. There was no other heat source. This Harman is a hand fired stove though.

A HyFire 180 or a Koker 160 should have more than enough BTU to heat your house. The question would be, can you move the heat around to the rest of the house?

-Don

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar