Hearth Model Instal Question

Post Reply
User avatar
Rick 386
Member
Posts: 2474
Joined: Mon. Jan. 28, 2008 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA 260 heating both sides of twin farmhouse
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Hyfire II w/ coaltrol in garage
Coal Size/Type: Pea in AA 260, Rice in LL Hyfire II
Other Heating: Gas fired infared at work
Location: Royersford, Pa
Contact:

Post Fri. Jul. 25, 2008 2:51 pm

My sister in law purchased an Alask Hearth model to replace the old wood insert in the fireplace 2 weeks ago. (Store had it in stock and price was right)

Of course it doesn't fit directly into the complete fireplace opening. The stove is about 1 course of bricks too high and maybe 1 or 2 courses too narrow.

We simply cannot flat plate off the opening and set it in front as we need the stove to partially enter the fireplace opening due to the fans on the back of it and the width of the ledge it sits upon. Should I fabricate a plate including a box for the fans or ?????

Open to any suggestions. I searched all 21 pages of pictures and did not see anything like it.

Rick

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Fri. Jul. 25, 2008 4:13 pm

Can you enlarge the hearth the stove sits on?? If not, like you suggested, you may have to make a custom plate..

How about a photo or two so we can see the situation??

Greg L.

ScottD
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu. Jun. 12, 2008 11:18 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth Stoker
Location: Eastern Mass

Post Fri. Jul. 25, 2008 5:35 pm

Rick,
Does it look like the one I'm posting? Mine also sits as you say, one course shy of fitting completely in. My sides are good. One thing with the hearth model is you absolutely need air back there for your blower fan otherwise it will draw air from the baro damper. I'm keeping mine out like it sits for that reason alone. The pics show the stove just placed there. It is not connected or leveled, but you get the idea.
Hope this helps, Scott
Forgot to mention, The flue that Alaska recommends is a flexible stainless steel flue placed up through the fireplace damper and then packed with insulation to stop all drafts. You don't have to worry about sealing off the fireplace opening like you would with an insert. I think thats what you were asking.
Attachments
Stove 012.jpg
Note the top bricks
Stove 013.jpg
Stove 014.jpg

User avatar
Rick 386
Member
Posts: 2474
Joined: Mon. Jan. 28, 2008 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA 260 heating both sides of twin farmhouse
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Hyfire II w/ coaltrol in garage
Coal Size/Type: Pea in AA 260, Rice in LL Hyfire II
Other Heating: Gas fired infared at work
Location: Royersford, Pa
Contact:

Post Fri. Jul. 25, 2008 6:26 pm

Greg,

Scott's pictures are almost identical to my situation. Thanks for them Scott !!! Only difference in mine is that the top course of bricks has the small end of the brick facing out. I have about the same amount of gap on the sides as on the right side of your stove. We have an 18" ledge about 12" off the floor upon which the stove is currently sitting on. Puts the front edge of the stove right to the edge of the ledge.

Scott I forgot about the baro as I wrote this. It would have hit me later on. But thanks for the reminder.

Due to a chimney fire several years ago, we are opting to install a S.S. flexible liner from the top which will connect directly to the stove. Then all I have to do is seal off the gap at the existing damper. I 'm pretty sure the liner will be cemented in place at the top.

This has to be idiot proof. She has never operated anything other than a thermostat for the oil burner. And I'm sure I'd catch hell from the wife if I was over there every night. :mad: :mad: :mad:

Rick


ScottD
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu. Jun. 12, 2008 11:18 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth Stoker
Location: Eastern Mass

Post Fri. Jul. 25, 2008 6:36 pm

Your flue is your greatest concern and with the flexible flue to the top you nipped it. Don't worry about sealing the fireplace opening as long as the area around the flue is sealed.
As far as idiot proof, these stoker stoves are idiot proof. Keep the hopper filled and empty the ash pan. Thats it. What is not idiot proof is the quality of the coal. Bad coal = bad coal experience. If you need to keep tinkering because of poor quality coal then you might be over there every night :cry: .
Hope this helps.

User avatar
Rick 386
Member
Posts: 2474
Joined: Mon. Jan. 28, 2008 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA 260 heating both sides of twin farmhouse
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Hyfire II w/ coaltrol in garage
Coal Size/Type: Pea in AA 260, Rice in LL Hyfire II
Other Heating: Gas fired infared at work
Location: Royersford, Pa
Contact:

Post Fri. Jul. 25, 2008 7:00 pm

Scott,

I have no problem, I've been burning coal for many, many years. Probably over 20. Due to the cost of oil she has decided to go that route. I know how the stokers operate. My dad is using 2 old Alaska triburners, I had one here at the shop that I just replaced with a LL Hyfire II. I'm taking the old triburner from the shop and putting it in the garage at home.

I'm looking forward to only using the oild burner here at the shop when we have the spraybooth fan running. I'm hoping I can build enough heat from the Hyfire to eliminate that.

With the change over that Alaska did to their burning mechanism and thermostat from the old triburners with cam screws, I hope she can handle it.

Rick

ScottD
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu. Jun. 12, 2008 11:18 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth Stoker
Location: Eastern Mass

Post Fri. Jul. 25, 2008 7:23 pm

Should have noticed your stoves in your profile. Oops.
I have the newer generation 3 stove with the combustion fan independent of the stoker motor. For her that is good. Much better design with combustion fan on full 24/7. You don't have to worry about the fire going out on low heat situations if your not careful. Just set the feed rate and relax!
Good luck!

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”