Outside Air ?

vaance

Post by vaance » Mon. Feb. 24, 2020 4:05 pm

Hello everyone - please be patient as this is my first post & I am new to coal stoves.
I have been reading online about them for a couple of years & believe they would be a good fit for my house.
I live in south central PA & have access to coal.
My question is, why are there no stoker stoves with an outside air feed?
It would seem to be wasteful to be sucking in all that air to have it pulled from your drafty windows or doors, or in through your dryer vent.
Thank you.
Vance

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Mon. Feb. 24, 2020 4:16 pm

Because they work well without-------Why wasteful?? Wasting what?? Welcome to the FORUM V--:)

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Mon. Feb. 24, 2020 4:23 pm

Whether it's outside air or inside air you still going to raise the temperature X degrees. It's a wash because the outside air lowers the temperature of the hot air you are making. Perhaps an easier way to explain it is you are recycling the heat.

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Mon. Feb. 24, 2020 4:45 pm

A work around for that would be a double or triple wall pipe that preheats outside combustion air with exhaust gases running along side it. Seems like my buddy has a Harmon free standing Stoker that does exactly that, if I'm not mistake.. I'll check with him about it.

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Mon. Feb. 24, 2020 4:55 pm

If you can extract heat from the flue gases without affecting the draft then you are in business.

jremington
Verified Business Rep.
Stoker Coal Boiler: DS Machines. Keystoker
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: DS Machines Aqua Gem
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Koker 160